March 1, 2012


Matthew 8:21-22 Another disciple said to him, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.”
But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.”

This is a famously pithy statement by Jesus, and some people see it as harsh, even cruel. However, I agree with the many scholars who feel that the man’s father probably wasn’t dead at the point he was asking this question. This wasn’t, “Let me go to my father’s funeral,” it was, “Let me live at home until my father dies.” Jesus knew that His time of teaching people in person was short, and He couldn’t give this man the luxury of a delay that might be years. This is a very appropriate and pointed passage for Japanese. Family obligations are very strong, and the term “filial duty” comes up far more often than it would in, say, America. Becoming a Christian in the face of family, and particularly parental, opposition is very hard indeed. That’s one reason Japanese students overseas are far more likely to become Christians than those who stay in Japan. Taking them out of the family/social context is enormously liberating. However, such new converts need a lot of support and encouragement when they return to Japan, and far too many don’t receive it, and essentially fall away. Too often, Japanese churches aren’t the warm, vibrant fellowship that drew these young people to Christ when they were overseas, and they aren’t so accepting of the returnees somewhat “non-Japanese” ways. That is certainly a preventable tragedy! However, the bigger problem is the foundational one of placing family ahead of God. Really placing God ahead of anything and everything else isn’t easy for anyone, but it is unquestionably the path of greatest blessing and fruitfulness.

My family has certainly never hindered me from following Christ; quite the opposite, in fact. However, that doesn’t mean I’ve been consistent in placing Christ first in everything. It is hard for people to accept being told by me that they must place God ahead of family when they know I’ve never had to face that particular choice. I must speak the truth in love and never in pride, allowing the Holy Spirit to take my words and make them His, to convict and convince. Most of the Japanese members of this church are the only Christians in their families. That’s a pressure I’ve never had, and I’ve got to remember that. However, I must not let humanistic compassion override the truth of God. I am indeed to speak the truth in love, not letting a misunderstanding of love keep me from speaking the truth.

Father, this is a constant issue for those ministering in Japan, but it is even more acute for those in Islamic countries. Help me have and maintain Your perspective, and never give up proclaiming the full good news of Your kingdom, for the salvation of many and for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment