November 13, 2014


Hebrews 1:3 The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.

Books have been written about who Jesus was and is, and how we personally answer that question is the most important question of our existence. If He is to us God who became man, taking our sins upon Himself and going to the cross, rising from death on the third day, then we have eternal life in Him, and nothing on this earth can be worse than a temporary inconvenience. If He is to us simply a great teacher and example to be emulated by those who have the moral strength, then this world is the best we’ve got, because we are headed for an eternity of separation from our Creator. Many people think being a Christian is a matter of living a moral life. If you are a Christian you will desire to live a moral life, but it doesn’t work the other way around. Buddhism is all about emptying yourself and negating your desires. We have a Savior who emptied Himself and became a mere human being (Philippians 2:7) so that we might become children of God. This snippet from Hebrews also says that He sustains everything by His powerful word. It is very interesting, and helpful, to read through the four Gospels focusing on the references to Jesus’ words. That goes all the way from Mary telling the servants at the wedding in Cana of Galilee to “do whatever he says,” (John 2:5) all the way to the “Seven Last Words” He spoke from the cross, as well as what He spoke to His disciples after His resurrection. If He said it, that settles it, whether we believe it or not! The image of Roman emperors giving a “thumbs up” or “thumbs down” to decide the fate of a defeated gladiator is part of popular culture, but that was no power at all compared to the Word of Christ. That’s all the more reason to be as familiar as possible with the Bible, so that we will be better able to recognize when He is speaking to us, to participate willingly and joyfully in what He is doing.

This is of course the central issue of my life. I am addicted to the Bible, but not as a work of literature; it is a record of things my Lord has said and an instrument through which He speaks to me daily. I am to treasure His Word, but not idolize the words on the page; I’ve got to focus on the One who spoke them and caused them to be written. It is my commission and my joy to communicate those words to others, but if I am not applying them and living them out myself, my efforts will be in vain. Japan is famous for having sparse results to all efforts at communicating the Gospel, but that is all the more reason to be sure I am living it out and not just mouthing it. My Lord supports me by His Word; He can certainly communicate that Word through me.

Father, thank You for Your incredible plan. My words fail me, but Your Word will never fail. I ask that You use me more and more to transmit Your Word of life to others, leading them from darkness to light, from death to life, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

