November 17, 2014


Hebrews 11:39-40 These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised. God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.

This is an extremely important passage, and should finish off the “name it and claim it” crowd. Being finite and temporal ourselves, it is all too easy for us to forget that God is infinite and eternal. He sees everything all at once, while we certainly cannot. Just because something doesn’t happen in our time frame doesn’t mean God hasn’t fulfilled His promise. It is a given in psychology that tolerance for delayed gratification is a major indicator of maturity. God wants mature children, so He deliberately doesn’t meet our frantic schedules sometimes. And we can’t tell Him when that is appropriate! God loves to bless us, but He is always more interested in our character than our comfort. If you always give a child everything they demand you will spoil them indeed, literally and figuratively. In fact, you will rob them of ever having true happiness and satisfaction. God wouldn’t do that to us! Tests of faith are seldom pleasant at the time, but faith only grows by being exercised, and the stronger our faith, the more peace and joy we have. Sometimes the most loving thing God can say to us is “No,” or “Not now.” We don’t like that, but our opinion doesn’t change the truth, whatever moral relativists say.

I’ve done my share of complaining about and rebelling against God’s timing, and it hasn’t done me any good! I have also seen God act instantly, to the shock of everyone involved. I’m reminded of the line from the Narnia books: “Aslan isn’t a tame lion.” I have had to learn that God isn’t there to do my bidding, but I am here to do His. In the process, I’ve also learned that His ideas are always better than mine. I can’t wrap my mind around a fraction of all the factors God takes into account. I am left with marveling that He does indeed hear my prayers and act on them. I’m still not really sure why He does it! I myself am still growing in my understanding of and fellowship with my Lord, even as I exhort others to press into Him. I have learned that He is indeed love, just as John said, (1 John 4:8, 16) and that He desires fellowship with His children. That knowledge is enough to get me through whatever I might go through, because I know my experiences will only make me better able to fellowship with Him.

Father, thank You for all You are doing in, around, and through me. Thank You for the good things You did here yesterday. Thank You that You are absolutely to be trusted, and to be trusted absolutely. Keep me growing in trust, and use me to grow others in trusting You as well, so that together we may be the children You desire, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

