November 24, 2014


1 Peter 2:16 Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as servants of God.

This verse is the perfect answer to libertarianism. We are indeed created by God to be free, but so many who stress that turn right around and make themselves slaves to sin, rather than to God. Paul dealt with this issue in depth in Romans; this verse is just one more example of the remarkable unanimity of the Bible. The thing is, we are slaves to whomever we obey. (Romans 6:16) Most of the people I have known who were adamant about “personal liberty” used that liberty to drink, do drugs, or whatever. When our focus is on liberty rather than on the One who created us and gave us freedom, then we lay ourselves open to all sorts of deceptions of the devil, who is out only to steal, kill, and destroy. (John 10:10)

Having graduated from college in 1969, I am very familiar with hippie culture and the roots of libertarianism. I am no fan of big government by any means, but I have seen many, many lives ruined in the pursuit of “liberty.” “Turn on, tune in, drop out,” was quite the mantra back in the day, and chaos on several levels was the result. I am very aware that “you can’t legislate morality,” but you can have laws that encourage moral behavior rather than the opposite. I am at times tempted to despair, or at least give up, on America, because evil takes so many faces. However, God has reminded me repeatedly that He is still God, and whether America survives or not is not the issue. Living in Japan perhaps makes this easier for me than for some who are in the thick of the current turmoil in America, but my focus has got to be on God’s kingdom and His righteousness, (Matthew 6:33) not just so that my physical needs will be met but so that I won’t lose my way in all the confusion. I am to walk free and lead others to do the same: free from all the devices and traps of the devil, in the liberty that only comes from the Spirit of God. (2 Corinthians 3:17)

Father, thank You for this reminder. I am frankly very tired of politics, but there seems to be no escaping it these days. I ask for wisdom and patient endurance. May I recognize what You are doing and participate willingly, not pursuing a human agenda but walking in obedient submission to You. May my words and actions bring light and clarity and not darkness and confusion. Once again I am back to praying the Lord’s Prayer: may Your Name be hallowed and Your kingdom come as Your will is done, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to November 24, 2014

  1. Naomi says:

    I was reading today that America will have an honoured place in end times prophecy, so reproducing it here in the hopes that it may encourage you about your country. The book I was reading is called “Bible Prophecy Handbook” by Herald of Hope. The passage I’m quoting from is from page 145:

    “We remember that America, as one of the “young lions” of Tarshish:
    1. Supports Israel at the time of the Russian/Muslim invasion (Ezek. 38:13)
    2. Will be the first to bring saved Jews back to the land at the end of the Tribulation (Isa. 60:9)
    3. Will have many saved individuals because the “sheep” nations support Israel in the Tribulation (Matt. 25:31).

    We should not be surprised if a substantial number of British, Americans and Australians are saved during the Tribulation.”

    God bless.
    Naomi

Leave a Reply

