January 29, 2015


Proverbs 18:15 The heart of the discerning acquires knowledge;
the ears of the wise seek it out.

In this Information Age it is very easy to fall into information overload, and sometimes the reaction is to shut things out. That’s not the path of wisdom. Discernment is certainly called for: what is important and what isn’t, what is valid and what isn’t. There’s a lot of inaccurate information out there! However, isolation is not the answer. Of course, the most important information we can gain is about our Creator and Lord. The Lord spoke very clearly to Jeremiah. “Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight.” (Jeremiah 9:23-24) It is only when we have a firm foundation of knowledge of and faith in the Lord that we can interpret everything else correctly. There is value in knowledge of many sorts, but many have been led astray by seeking “higher knowledge” that is not of God. That was a problem even in the 1st Century, and it was called Gnosticism, seeking knowledge for the sake of knowledge. We are to seek knowledge that will make us more effective as servants of the Lord.

I have always been a “knowledge junkie,” reading the Encyclopedia Britannica for fun even in the 4th grade, and have been called a walking dictionary or a walking encyclopedia by quite a few people. However, in this information age, even I experience overload! A case in point is that I just acquired my first tablet computer. After 30 years of working with the keyboard/mouse paradigm, the learning curve is very steep! I am experiencing a strong urge to retreat to the familiar, but the Lord started speaking to me about getting a tablet to use with sermon notes a couple of weeks before the hinge broke on my notebook computer. Retreat is not an option! I can see a lot of potential benefit to having the tablet, but I’ve got to be humble and patient with myself. At the same time, I must not let technology distract me from my Lord and those to whom He wants me to minister. Tools are tools, neither more nor less, and I am to view them, and everything else, from my Lord’s perspective.

Father, thank You for this exercise in humility. When I am used to teaching and guiding others about computers, the frustration of being a beginner is immense! I pray that this will be an effective tool in Your hands through me, so that the work You have for me may be done more simply and effectively, communicating Your truth to those who need to receive it, for their blessing and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

