February 10, 2015


Isaiah 66:2 “This is the one I esteem:
he who is humble and contrite in spirit,
and trembles at my word.”

The Bible speaks again and again about the virtues of humility, but here we have God Himself saying that it is the humble that He esteems. That should leave no question! How many of us tremble at God’s Word? Actually, if God said it, that settles it, period. Such an attitude is very much out of style these days. People are losing their jobs and their businesses for being so bold as to insist that God’s Word trumps political correctness. The temptation, as it has always been, is to “go with the flow,” to not “make waves.” That might seem humble to men, but it’s not humble before God. Conversely, standing on the Word of God and refusing to bend is seen as proud and obstinate, but it is humility before God because it is placing Him above personal expediency. None of us is perfect; we all commit sins of all sorts, too often without even recognizing we have done so. However, a heart that is humble before God repents quickly when the Holy Spirit points such things out. That is what God is looking for.

Interestingly, God used words from my mouth to show me a sin of mine that is too common. As I was preaching this past Sunday I gave examples of sins, and one I said was entertaining ideas that we know are not pleasing to God. That wasn’t in my notes! A young man once complained to D. L. Moody, about the “impossibility” of a pure thought life. Moody’s response was, “You can’t keep birds from flying over your head, but you can keep them from building nests in your hair.” The world presents us with a continual barrage of impurity. We can’t stop that, but we can control how we respond to it. When our hearts are fixed on Christ, thanking and praising Him is the perfect “way of escape” from all such temptation. (1 Corinthians 10:13) I know that from experience, but I’ve got to fear God and love Him enough to practice it with complete consistency.

Father, thank You for reminding me of this. Thank You for never giving up on me, never stopping work on me. I pray that I would indeed be transformed into the likeness of Christ in every respect, so that all who see me would be drawn to You, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

