February 12. 2015


Daniel 5:22 “But you his son, O Belshazzar, have not humbled yourself, though you knew all this.”

It is amazing how adept we are at not acting on what we know. We are all aware of assorted examples, both good and bad, yet we so often feel they don’t apply to us, that we are the exception. How foolish! Nebuchadnezzar was actually Belshazzar’s grandfather, but as Daniel said, he knew the story of the seven year hiatus in Nebuchadnezzar’s reign (during which Daniel probably ran the country). Even so, he didn’t apply it as an object lesson to himself, and he lost the empire and his own life as a result. The Bible contains countless examples for us to emulate or avoid, and we all have situations much closer to us that can serve the same purpose, but too often we fail to connect the dots, to understand how our situation is a parallel of the other. God’s love for us is individual but his principles are eternal. We all have room to grow in applying His eternal principles to our individual, immediate circumstances.

I am no exception here. As a pastor I am forever expressing God’s principles to others, but I am all too capable of feeling I am some sort of exception. I won’t say “think,” because this is certainly not rational thinking. The devil is indeed a liar and the father of lies (John 8:44) and he whispers in my ear just as he does to everyone else. However, I have less excuse to listen to him than most, because I have a firm foundation in the Bible. That said, I am no better than the many pastors who have lost their ministries because of gross sin, and the minute I think I am better, I put myself in grave danger. I have got to walk in humble obedience at all times, actively seeking to hear what my Lord is saying and be instantly responsive. The great comfort is in knowing that the Holy Spirit is in me to help me. All I have to do is choose to be obedient.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Thank You for what You are doing in this conference, in me and in so many others. I pray that all of Your plans for today, and tomorrow as well, may be fulfilled in every detail. May these pastors and leaders be cleansed, healed, strengthened and encouraged, so that the Body of Christ in Japan may be built up indeed. Thank You for Mark Conner, Your anointing on him and his humble obedience to You. May we all indeed receive what You are pouring through him, for the sake of the Body of Christ and for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

