February 13, 2015


Dan 10:12 Then he continued, “Do not be afraid, Daniel. Since the first day that you set your mind to gain understanding and to humble yourself before your God, your words were heard, and I have come in response to them.”

Humbly seeking the Lord gets immediate results, even if we don’t see those results immediately. Daniel is a superb role model in so many ways. Given the circumstances of his captivity it seems quite possible that he was a eunuch, though the Bible doesn’t specify that. (We do know he never married.) That would have put him in a special subclass of people who were excluded from all sorts of things involving worship in the temple in Jerusalem, but then he was forever separated from that temple anyway. In any case, he committed himself to seeking the Lord and obeying Him as few others recorded in the Bible did. In response, God showed him things that are still being studied intensely regarding End Times. If we want to know things from God, Daniel certainly points the way. Jesus made it clear that there are things we don’t need to know (Acts 1:7), so this isn’t some magic key to the secrets of the universe. However, God would show us a lot more if we were more humbly submitted to Him.

I have always had an inquiring mind, but I haven’t always been humbly submitted to God. There are things that some people obsess over that I’m quite willing to leave in God’s hands, but there are some things I do need to know in terms of my personal ministry, so that I will make the right plans and proceed the right way. Humility is the key! I certainly need His wisdom in my various ministry encounters, counseling or presenting the Gospel or whatever. I tend to be very full of myself, sure that I have the right answer, but that in itself is the wrong answer! That’s not to say that I am to be hesitant, but it is to say that I must remember that God’s smart and I’m not, and never try to take His place in any way. His plans are certainly good, (Jeremiah 29:11) and I’m to walk in consistent submission, obedience, and peace.

Father, thank You for all You have done here over the past three days. Thank You for Your plans for today. I do ask for full anointing on the services this morning and for Your protection and guidance for everyone as they head for home after that. I do ask that there be two seats available on the flight to Nagasaki so that we may get home as planned and without exhaustion. May all that You have said to each participant in this conference be sealed by Your Spirit so that it may be performed in each life, bearing abundant fruit for the sake of this nation and for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

