April 27, 2015


Psalm 142:3 When my spirit grows faint within me,
it is you who know my way.

I have always appreciated the unvarnished honesty in David’s Psalms. Here he is describing a situation most of us experience at some time or another, when we are so emotionally exhausted that we hardly know which way is up, much less which way is forward. The preface to this Psalm specifies it was composed when David was “in the cave.” 1 Samuel tells the tale of how Saul hounded David around the countryside so that he constantly feared for his life, but in that we have the magnificent incident in 1 Samuel 24 when Saul enters the cave where David is and David has the perfect opportunity to kill Saul in return, but he refuses to do so because Saul is God’s anointed. David vented his feelings in Psalms like this one, but he remembered the truth he recorded here and was obedient to God. When we are worn out on various levels it is easy to yield to our emotions, but that generally opens a door to the devil. Being aware of our own weaknesses is not a bad thing if it causes us to depend on God, but if we fail to focus on God then we wallow in those weaknesses and the result is not good at all.

I have found that I have the least resistance to some forms of temptation when I am physically or emotionally exhausted. That has taught me to be careful! I think this is one reason for moral failures in “successful” ministers: they are running so hard they don’t have the emotional resources to stand firm. I need to watch my health and watch my schedule so that I don’t open myself up needlessly to attacks of various sorts. God knows my way even when I’m not exhausted, so I need to keep my focus on Him at all times.

Father, thank You for the good day yesterday. Thank You for the gratifying responses to people finding out about my book. I continue to pray that the book would reach the people You intend it for, and that it would have Your impact in their lives. Thank You for the good attendance in the service, even though many of those were in transit. I pray that Your words through me would stay with them wherever they go, producing Your fruit in their lives. I pray that today and each day I would focus on You to hear and follow Your agenda, so that Your will may be done in and through me on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

