April 28, 2015


Psalm 143:10 Teach me to do your will,
for you are my God;
may your good Spirit
lead me on level ground.

Here we have yet another illustration of why David was a man after God’s own heart (Acts 13:22): he sought God’s heart, to be obedient to it. How many people today ask God to teach them to do His will? We can’t know that number, but God knows it! Oh, we complain about the rough road we have to travel and we ask for a smooth one, as David asks here, but the question is whether we are committed to obedience in the first place. David had plenty of flaws. I have no idea why the Lord didn’t teach him to be a better father, for example, but then he probably didn’t have good role models. However, God took him as he was and used him, flaws and all. We need to believe that God can and will do the same with us, and ask and submit ourselves to Him for that purpose. We have the huge advantage of the printed Bible, and we need to make full use of it. We have the examples of thousands of committed saints who have gone before us; no lack of role models for us! And the same Holy Spirit that David asked for is available to us, in far greater measure than it was available to him. We need to wake up to what God has provided and appropriate it fully, to be and do all that He intends for us, for His glory.

This is the message God is burning into my heart. It is the theme of the book he has had me start writing. I need to rise above the distractions and work on it more steadily. I do write better in the morning, but with some vacation time coming up I’ll have more opportunity to do that. That is part of the path He has laid out for me, and I had better stay on track! I have had some magnificent role models even in my own family, and I need to remember that they had no fewer distractions than I do, even if those distractions were different. I need to recognize the enemy’s attacks for what they are, even when they are subtle, and let the Holy Spirit indeed guide me in the path I am to take, for the sake of the Body of Christ and for His glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder, and for this further expansion of what You are wanting me to write. Thank You for the good response to the publication of my first book. However, that too can be a distraction! Help me keep moving forward as You intend, always drawing closer to You and drawing others closer to You as well, for the blessing of many and for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

