May 6, 2015


Daniel 9:14 The Lord did not hesitate to bring the disaster upon us, for the Lord our God is righteous in everything he does; yet we have not obeyed him.

God is gracious and merciful, but He is also totally righteous and just. We forget that to our peril. In recent years world culture has gone into the gutter to a remarkable extent, with America leading the way. As Billy Graham said not long ago, if the Lord doesn’t bring judgment on America He’s going to have to apologize to Sodom and Gomorrah! Daniel was experiencing the aftermath of Israel’s apostasy, but he had Jeremiah’s prophecy at hand and so knew that God’s plan would continue. We, on the other hand, seem to be within the revelation to John, and if that is the case, the road ahead is a very rough one indeed. It puts everything into a different perspective to consider that, and calls for the utmost obedience and faithfulness to God. It’s not that the world will end tomorrow, or even next week, but that everything needs to be viewed in the light of eternity: how are we sure of our place in eternity, and what/whom do we take with us into eternity. That doesn’t mean stopping our daily lives, but it should have an impact on how we live our lives. We need to be sure that we ourselves are listening obediently to God, acting on what He tells us and not being distracted/numbed by the world around us. It’s also not a matter of abandoning hope and joy. Even if the world ends tomorrow, God still has joys for us today. We don’t know the details of God’s plan, and we certainly don’t know the timing, but we can know that He is perfectly righteous and holy, and His faithfulness extends to judgment and rewards.

Shortly before I woke up this morning I was dreaming that I was one of several people who were to be beheaded, and I wasn’t at all upset about it. That’s hardly a dream I expect to come true, but at the same time I am very happy about the attitude I had in the dream. My perspective in the dream was on eternity, and I wasn’t much bothered about something that would happen to my physical body. I am as human as anyone, and things that happen around and to me have a big impact on me. However, I know that isn’t always going to be the case. I know I have eternity ahead of me in a condition that, to quote a Christian song, “I can only imagine.” The big issue then becomes, how many people will I be able to take with me? In my finite humanity I cannot care equally about every human being on earth, but I do care a great deal about a lot of people. There are several in that group who will probably not be around much longer, even if the Lord delays His return. I am not to hold back, but present Christ to them yet again, speaking the truth to them in love so that perhaps they will receive it, repent, and believe for their salvation.

Father, thank You for the man I saw yesterday, for the first time in quite a while. Humanly speaking I owe him a lot, and I want to give him Your eternal life in return. He has firmly declined it in the past, but I ask Your grace and mercy for him. Two others in that same category come immediately to mind. I ask for wisdom and anointing on me and grace and mercy on them, that they too would join me in Your family. Father, may Your Name be acknowledged as holy and Your kingdom come as Your will is done, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

