June 11, 2015


Ephesians 2:10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Many, many people wonder about the reason for their existence, and here we have it in a nutshell. Not only are we created to do good works, God has already prepared those good works for us to do. This is precisely what militant atheists are rebelling against. They want to “do their own thing,” and the idea that they were created for a purpose greater and beyond them, that they had no part in deciding, galls them no end. However, their rebellion defies logic. No child chooses its parents, biologically speaking. (Adoption is a marvelous thing, and actually plays a major role in salvation, but that’s a different subject.) No child chooses their biological siblings. When such things are determined for us, with absolutely no input from us, why would it seem strange that our Creator would have prepared in advance many other things about our lives? However, that’s exactly what some people rebel against. My mother had an expression that describes them pretty well: “Independent as a hog on ice.” Where that originated I have no idea, but the word picture is clear, and hilarious. Those who rail against their Creator have no idea how absurd they are being! It stands to reason, then, that the wisest course for anyone is to seek the plan that God has laid out for them and do their utmost to cooperate with it. It should go without saying that such a course would bring the most satisfaction, greatest productivity, and yes, greatest joy possible for any individual. God created us with free will, the ability to choose and make decisions, because He didn’t want robots, He wanted children. However, that means that we are capable of choosing our own destruction, and sadly, many do. As Paul said, “God our Savior wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.” (1 Timothy 2:3-4) However, that has to be our individual choice.

By the amazing grace of God I had a knowledge of the truth from infancy, but that didn’t result in salvation until I chose to accept it on my own. That said, I have flailed around a good bit in my life, looking for the path I wanted instead of seeking what God had prepared for me. Too often, my life has been an illustration of the axiom, “Failing to plan is planning to fail.” Rather than seeking out what God had for me to be doing, I have just lazed along, enjoying the scenery. That hasn’t been terribly productive! God has enabled me to do various things in spite of myself, but that is something I’ll have to answer for before the Throne. Even at this point in my life I need to be active in seeking out what God has prepared for me to do, and doing it with joy and persistence. Paul had a word of advice for me: “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” (Galatians 6:9) I need to look forward to the next thing God has for me, and press forward to attain it. (Philippians 3:12-14)

Father, thank You for this reminder. It’s a little bit of a kick in the seat! Help me indeed apply myself fully to that which You have prepared for me to do, so that the schemes of the devil may be defeated and many souls delivered to repent and believe for their salvation, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

