July 4, 2015


Job 19:25-27 “I know that my Redeemer lives,
and that in the end he will stand upon the earth.
And after my skin has been destroyed,
yet in my flesh I will see God;
I myself will see him
with my own eyes—I, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!

As in Job 14:14-17, once again we have an amazing declaration of faith that seems prophetic, given the time it was recorded. This reads to me like an expectation of resurrection. One of Job’s afflictions was a skin problem, (Job 2:4-8) which accounts for the specific reference here to “after my skin has peeled off,” as the Japanese puts it. Still, the idea of a direct confrontation/relationship with the Creator is remarkable. Job is very specific that he himself will see God, and not just the Redeemer seeing God for him. That he would have faith for a Redeemer in the first place is remarkable enough, but he goes further and says that once redeemed, he will relate to God directly. That is exactly what happens through Christ. One of the many significant things Jesus said was, “In that day you will ask in my name. I am not saying that I will ask the Father on your behalf. No, the Father himself loves you because you have loved me and have believed that I came from God.” (John 16:26-27) Jesus does intercede for us, (Hebrews 7:25) but when by faith we are clothed in His righteousness (Isaiah 61:10) we can come boldly before the throne of God ourselves. (Hebrews 4:16) That is amazing grace indeed, and it’s all the more amazing that Job was given a revelation of it so far before Jesus walked the earth.

I have the advantage of the availability of both the Old and the New Testaments, but the question is whether I make full use of all that has been provided. I need to walk in faith and not unbelief, obedience and not rebellion, to receive all that God has provided. I am still learning the breadth, the depth, the magnificence of that provision. As a pastor I seek to lead others into that provision as well. It is clear that I can’t open the eyes of people’s hearts by my own wisdom and strength, but I can be a channel of God’s Spirit to do that. I am to be active but not independent, not drawing back from any task the Lord has for me, whether I see the purpose in it for not. I do not see the end from the beginning, and He does. Even if the interval is thousands of years, as between the Book of Job and now, I am to trust that God will bring fruit from my labors, and rest secure in Him.

Father, this is a further restatement of “Rest, Relax, Rejoice.” I have trouble really doing that, don’t I? The past two weeks have been packed, and at the moment I’m not at all ready for the service tomorrow. Help me remember all that You have done so that I will have peace and assurance about what You will do, even when I have to be an active participant in the process. I ask for physical strength as well as emotional strength for today, as well as wisdom and presence of mind to know in what order to do things and how to get them done. Keep me from stressing out over things that are not yet done, but do each thing in turn, on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

