August 6, 2015


Ecclesiastes 9:1 So I reflected on all this and concluded that the righteous and the wise and what they do are in God’s hands, but no man knows whether love or hate awaits him.

The thought in this verse is actually echoed in verse 11, and the point is that we aren’t in control. We try to wrest control from God, but it never works. We invent such things as “cryogenics,” trying to cheat death by freezing, sure that somewhere down the line man will advance to the point that we can be revived, but the stupidity of that has too many levels to discuss here. We try to insist that God doesn’t exist, declaring Him gone by our words, but that’s like a child trying to make a puppy disappear by saying “abracadabra.” To be honest, I don’t much care for Ecclesiastes, because for all his wisdom, Solomon soured it all by trusting that wisdom instead of the One who gave it to him, and he became very stupid in the process. There is real truth in this verse, but it lacks either hope or joy because it doesn’t come from a heart at peace with its Creator. Solomon didn’t understand the greatest joy, peace, and satisfaction of being in harmony with, and at rest in, his loving, omnipotent, heavenly Father.

Being blessed in the IQ department, I feel I understand Solomon’s temptations. If I had had essentially unlimited financial resources and temporal authority, I might well have gone the way he did, and I’m very grateful to have been kept from that. I have had to learn that not only am I not in control, it’s a very good thing that I’m not. I don’t see the end from the beginning, because I’m at a fixed point in the space-time continuum, so I don’t know what havoc my good intentions will bring down the line. Only God can even keep track of it all, not to mention be in control. My father had real insight when he said that God’s will for any individual is going to fit in perfectly with His will for every other individual. It takes the biggest super-computers just to model planetary weather patterns, and think about how often the weather forecast misses it! I am not to be anxious about not being in control, or really even “in the know,” but be satisfied with knowing the One who is, and strive to live in obedient fellowship with Him.

Father, thank You for being God. Thank You for getting through to me a few years ago with the simple reality that You’re smart and I’m not. Thank You for the little reminders of that that You give me every day. Help me be Your agent to do Your will at all times, blessing those around me and drawing them to You, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

