August 21, 2015


Ezekiel 37:3, 10 He asked me, “Son of man, can these bones live?”
I said, “O Sovereign Lord, you alone know.”
So I prophesied as he commanded me, and breath entered them; they came to life and stood up on their feet—a vast army.

In this very famous story, Ezekiel did two things right: he didn’t try to impose his ideas on the situation, and he was obedient to what God told him to do. We tend to focus on the second half of that, obedience, and forget about the first half. For most of us, if God were to ask us what He asked Ezekiel, our answer would be, “No way! That’s impossible!” We effectively forget that God is God, and He can do anything. It is only when we remember who God is that we can hear Him accurately and obey Him fully. The world today is rife with “impossible” situations, but God is in no way limited. We cannot dictate to Him how He will act, and it is both foolish and dangerous to try, but we must not think He is unable or unwilling, or we will miss out on a great deal.

I find so many applications to this in my own life that I hardly know where to begin. My wife has serious medical challenges, but that’s no big deal for God. This church is tiny and seems stagnant, but again that’s no big deal for God. This nation has been resistant to the Gospel for generations, but even that is no big deal for God. Over 20 years ago the Lord told me personally that He would like many things in the world to be different. Even before that, He told me not to be amazed at what amazed others, but expect great things from Him. I have many unanswered questions, but I must not limit by my unbelief what God wants to do through me. Like Ezekiel, I need to respond, “O Lord, You know.” I am not to be afraid to ask for God to act, because Jesus told the story of the persistent widow (Luke 18:1-8) and even Abraham bargained with God. (Genesis 18) I fear I have been lazy in asking, presuming on God rather than being faithful. I really don’t know how or even why prayer is effective, but I know from the Bible and from experience that God does answer prayer, and I must act accordingly.

Father, I am prone to pray for something once and then drop it. Forgive me. Help me be willing to labor in prayer, even as Jesus labored in Gethsemane to the point that He sweat blood. May I be willing to pour myself out for Your kingdom in this most basic area, so that Your healing, Your life, Your salvation may be manifested in power, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

