August 23, 2015


Micah 7:7 But as for me, I watch in hope for the Lord,
I wait for God my Savior;
my God will hear me.

The circumstances just described are horrible indeed, and frankly bring to mind conditions in the US today. That said, Micah’s attitude is the one to which we should all aspire. From time to time throughout history and in various locations there have been times that have seemed as bad as this, but the solution is always the same: trust God. God gives mankind free will, but that doesn’t mean He has abdicated His throne. The devil is very real, but that doesn’t mean his power approaches that of the Creator. (1 John 4:4) For the person who has a personal relationship with God, the answer is always trusting obedience. Sometimes that does mean waiting, and sometimes from our perspective that wait seems long indeed, but in the end it will have been worth it. (Hebrews 10:35 and many more) God is our “God of salvation,” to use Micah’s phrase, and as the Bible says repeatedly, “Anyone who trusts in Him will never be put to shame.” (Romans 10:11)

I am something of a “news junkie,” wanting to know what’s going on, but much of the news, at least as it’s reported, is hardly encouraging, and at times I have been distracted by that. It’s not that “ignorance is bliss,” but I’ve got to remember that no matter how horrible the circumstances, God is still God, whether the circumstances in question are on the world stage or in my own life. Jesus spoke of “wars and rumors of wars,” (Matthew 24:6) and said not to get too stirred up by them. I am to be active in the world, in prayer at the very least, but I am never to think it all depends on me. That’s the route to a very rapid breakdown! Rather, I am to focus on listening to God and being obedient to Him, allowing Him to use me or not use me however He chooses. I’ve got to be as willing to get out of the way as I am to lay my life on the line. Sometimes that’s hard to remember! Laziness is not an option, but I’ve got to remember the example of King Saul, who lost his kingdom because he was unable to wait for God in the face of human pressures. (1 Samuel 13)

Father, I’m not sure what You’re saying to me this morning. I’ve never been very good at delegation; help me recognize whatever I’m to do in that area. Thoughts of retirement have crossed my mind, but I sense no clear guidance there. Help me not be anxious about anything, but rather maintain full obedience to You on every level in every detail, so that Your perfect will may be done on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

