September 7, 2015


Romans 11:18 You do not support the root, but the root supports you.

I am always mystified by antisemitism, and it is perhaps at its most insidious as “Replacement Theology.” I don’t see how an honest reading of the New Testament can bring you to the position that the Church has completely replaced Israel in God’s plan. Physical descendants of Abraham do indeed need faith in his Descendant, the Messiah of promise, but that fact does not negate thousands of years of history. The nation of Israel today is learning that it has no better friends than Evangelical, and particularly Charismatic, Christians. That is because anyone with an active relationship with Father God is going to love His children. “Christian antisemitism” is to me a complete contradiction in terms. The root of antisemitism is jealousy, both on a human level and on a demonic level. Jews are indeed prominent in the areas of science, medicine, finance, and others, but attacking someone because you want to bring them down to your level simply shows how low you are morally, emotionally, and spiritually. That sort of motivation is very evident in the world today, and it is ugly whatever form it takes. Coming back to the matter of the physical descendants of Abraham, Christians must remember that the Old Testament is indeed the “root stock” of the New Testament, and Jesus would never have been born without Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. We need to feel and express appreciation for Israel, even as we pray and witness so that they too may acknowledge Yeshua ha Messiach, for their eternal salvation.

I am grateful for the various interactions I have had with Messianic Jews over the years, and I am thankful there wasn’t a trace of antisemitism in my family as I was growing up. I remember my shock, actually, when Benjamin Berger explained Replacement Theology to me. We had just met, and I was to be interpreting for him as he spoke in Japan, and he was concerned that I might subscribe to that position myself. I think it was clear to him that I felt I had never heard such an absurd distortion of Scripture in my life! Needless to say, we had a very warm relationship after that, which I treasure. I have never visited geographic Israel, though I would like to, but I am deeply grateful to have been grafted into spiritual Israel, and I love the roots that nourish me.

Father, thank You for Your plan, that certainly exceeds our narrow human perceptions. Like Paul, I pray for the repentance and salvation of the Jews. I share in their promises strictly by grace through faith. May I be Your instrument of blessing to them, however You choose to use me, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

