September 15, 2015


2 Corinthians 1:9 But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead.

In my observation this is the biggest purpose of most of the trials we experience, and frankly, it’s worth it all. I often remember Andrae Crouch’s song, Through It All. That deals with this theme beautifully and accurately. One of our biggest problems as human beings is in thinking that “we can do it,” without any regard for God. The further away from that attitude we can get, the better. That doesn’t mean a passive, I-won’t-do-anything attitude, it means taking on challenges, no matter how great, with the assurance that God is able to do it through us. It is an attitude of, “It needs to be done, so God, I’m available if You’d like to use me.” When the trials we experience teach us to depend on God alone, as this verse says, then they are worth going through indeed.

One way this can be very intense is in physical/health problems. I have seen quite a few miraculous healings, but I have seen far more cases when that did not happen. That is to say, God had a better plan for the individual and for those around them. My wife is counting the minutes until she is able to have the back surgery to relieve her pain (even though we don’t know the exact date of the surgery). I am naturally concerned for her and want her to be spared any unnecessary pain, but at the same time I know that this experience is polishing and strengthening her. I’ve been having a crash course in empathy the past few days. I don’t know if it’s food poisoning or something else, (though I’ll be going to the doctor this morning) but I woke up around midnight Sunday night with some of the worst chills I’ve ever experienced. I got a blanket and wrapped in it, and when my wife took my temperature around 4 it was 39.5 Centigrade. I actually had a doctor’s appointment for that morning, but it was with my dermatologist, and since by the time he saw me I felt like the fever had broken, I didn’t mention it to him. I pushed myself and got some other things done, but another check of my temperature came out 39.18. I was taking buffered aspirin at a great rate, and we went to the wake of a friend around 5, paying our respects but not staying for the service. That evening it got to the place where I certainly couldn’t trust myself to pass gas, and at this point I feel like I’m probably ready for a colonoscopy! I will be seeing my internist this morning, but the point is, all of this is for my good. That’s not to say I enjoy it, but to say that it teaches me to depend truly on God. Cathy has been doing beautifully about that, and I needed a refresher course!

Father, thank You indeed for the trials You allow us to experience, just as Andrae Crouch’s song says. Help me indeed receive and learn all the lessons You are teaching me, so that I will be more and more responsive, more and more useful in Your hands, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

