September 18, 2015


2 Corinthians 10:18 For it is not the one who commends himself who is approved, but the one whom the Lord commends.

I couldn’t count how many times I’ve used the earlier parts of this chapter in sermons, counseling, and conversations, but this last verse in the chapter is hard-hitting as well. It fits in perfectly with Paul’s quote of Jeremiah 9:24 in the verse before: “Let him who boasts boast in the Lord.” Right now America is in the throes of a much-needed-and-awaited presidential election. Many of the candidates, rather than talking about issues, are simply blowing their own horns. Given the current state of American celebrity culture that’s not surprising, because numbers of people are obviously drawn to the loudest horn blower, but it’s sad. The American electorate as a whole needs to ask who God approves, but again sadly, that’s obviously not going to happen. However, God can advance His purposes through means those directly involved don’t perceive, and that’s where prayer comes in. Everyone who does care whether America has God’s chosen leadership should be praying actively toward that end. They should be participating in the political process, yes, including voting in primaries, but I don’t think their prayers should be limited to a particular candidate, but rather that God’s choice may prevail. He may surprise us, He may delight us, He may do both, but we are not to be passive about it. “Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done” certainly applies in politics as well as in every area of our daily lives.

I have had my own problems with being “all mouth and no action” in various areas over the years. It’s not been pretty! Recently my photography has been garnering some gratifying comments, but there too I’ve got to remember that it’s God who enables absolutely everything I do. My goal is the ultimate accolade: “Well done, good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will set thee over many things; enter thou into the joy of thy Lord.” (Matthew 25:23 ASV) I’m not so concerned about being “set over many things,” but I do want to please my Lord and enter into His joy. The question then becomes, how to live now? No boasting, certainly! Rather, I am to seek to “make the most of every opportunity,” (Colossians 4:5) applying myself fully to every task the Lord sets before me, not complaining or making excuses but depending fully on Him. If He tells me to do it, He will do it through me!

Father, You’ve had me write quite a mix this morning, from politics to personal application. Thank You. This past week has been quite a roller coaster ride on the health front. Again, thank You. Thank You for how I feel right now, quite ready to go on the business trip tomorrow. Guide us as we pack and make other preparations today, so that there will be less temptation to be frantic tomorrow. May we rest, relax, and rejoice in You each step of the way, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

