October 1, 2015


1 Thessalonians 5:24 The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.

This short little verse is one of the most encouraging in the whole Bible. The verses ahead of this are justly famous as pithy little instructions for living the Christian life, but anyone who is honest has moments of saying, I can’t do it! That’s why Paul throws in this verse. This verse and the one ahead of it are delightfully set to music in Japanese. I had to modify it a bit when I translated it to English to make the words fit the music, but this last line comes out as, “We know that what He’s promised He will do.” That’s the whole point of grace: God does for us what we can’t do for ourselves, out of the sheer magnitude and magnificence of His love for us. In ourselves we are not faithful or dependable or any of those good things, but God can manifest those good qualities in and through us if we will allow Him to do so. Paul himself famously lamented in Romans 7 the struggles of anyone who genuinely desires to please God, but he ends that with, “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God – through Jesus Christ our Lord!” (Romans 7:24-25) Our wills are most certainly involved, but God does the work if – and this can be a big if – we are committed to Him in repentance and faith. That should give every believer peace and hope, because, as Paul started out Romans 8, “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” (Romans 8:1) When we are anchored in Him, He takes care of everything.

Just this morning I saw a comment that one of my sisters forwarded to me, that I “must have the patience of Job.” The thing is, I don’t, but God does, and more. As long as I am yielded to and trusting in Him, He will manifest in and through me all that is called for. It’s like He finally got through to me a few years ago, He’s smart and I’m not. The same can be said of every other desirable trait/characteristic. I know that He has called me, that He is faithful, and that He is going to do everything necessary in and through me, so my job, as He told me a few years ago, is to rest, relax, and rejoice!

Father, thank You indeed for Your faithfulness. Thank You that timing and everything else are in Your hands. Help me indeed “be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication make my requests known to You, so that Your peace may guard my heart and mind in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7 adapted) Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

