December 12, 2015


Jeremiah 33:15-16 “‘In those days and at that time
I will make a righteous Branch sprout from David’s line;
he will do what is just and right in the land.
In those days Judah will be saved
and Jerusalem will live in safety.
This is the name by which it will be called:
The Lord Our Righteousness.'”

The most important thing about this passage to me is that the Lord is quoting Jeremiah to himself. These two verses are almost word-for-word the same as Jeremiah 23:5-6. Of course, they were words the Lord had put in Jeremiah’s mouth the first time, but he needed to be reminded of them. When he said them the first time, I’m sure he spoke them with great assurance, having just condemned the unfaithful shepherds/leaders of the nation, and that was something of his forte. However here, he is facing the utter destruction of Jerusalem at the hand of the Babylonians, and this prophecy that he himself had spoken probably seemed like a complete fantasy even to him. That’s a major reason God has us record the things He says to us: we forget them. Sometimes God repeats prophecy through another individual. In terms of Messianic prophecy, Micah 4:1-3 seems like a direct quote of Isaiah 2:2-4. What God says often bears repeating, because we are so slow to take it to heart. That’s a major reason to read and re-read the Bible, because it simply does not work down to the depths of our souls with anything less. We are slow to learn! That even such a major prophet of God as Jeremiah would have to be reminded of prophecy he himself had delivered should be an encouragement to us, both to keep taking in the Word of God and not to put ourselves down that we need to do so.

This of course applies to me in the terms I have just expressed, but the Lord also brought to mind a prophecy He expressed through me. To my current distress, I am unable to locate the file in my computer, and I feel I need to be reminded of that in detail right now! However, God is more than able to resurrect it in me one way or another, and I need to let go and trust Him with it. If Jeremiah needed to be reminded, then there is no shame in my needing reminding from time to time! The thing is, we may hear or read a Word from the Lord and be totally unable to imagine how it could be fulfilled. Paul specifically referred to that, reminding us that God is “able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.” (Ephesians 3:20) I am not to get worked up over how God might fulfill prophecy, but rather rest secure in the assurance that He will fulfill His Word.

Father, You’ve already given me a message for tomorrow based on Jeremiah 23:5-6, and here I have the repeat of that truth. Help me walk in Your truth at all times, not deceiving myself but living out what You have placed in me, so that Your will may be done in and through me on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

