December 18, 2015


Luke 1:37-38 “For nothing is impossible with God.”
“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May it be to me as you have said.” Then the angel left her.

What a contrast to Gabriel’s interaction with Zechariah! I’m sure he enjoyed this one a lot more! The simple reminder that nothing is impossible with God was enough for Mary, and she made a commitment of faith that has blessed all mankind, and indeed all of creation. We have trouble grasping just how big an issue this was for her. Today “unwed motherhood” is so common as to be beneath notice, but back then marriage and purity really meant something, and consequences for violation could be severe. We tend to express faith and love toward God when it feels good and doesn’t cost us anything, but draw back when we feel the cost is getting high. Jesus later said a good bit about “counting the cost,” and He had His own mother’s example to help Him know what He was talking about. Mary’s response was tantamount to accepting martyrdom, and we should never forget that. We need to believe what Gabriel told her, that nothing is impossible with God, and offer ourselves to Him completely, holding nothing back, just as Mary did. I forget which famous Christian once said, “The world has yet to see what God can do with a man who is completely committed to Him.” However, we have indeed seen what God can do with a woman who is completely committed to Him, because Mary is that example.

I would honestly like to be completely committed/submitted to God, but I recognize areas in myself that call for repeated repentance. I want to believe completely that nothing is impossible with God, but too often my faith seems flimsy and shrunken. I have lived with myself long enough to know that “nothing good lives in me,” as Paul said (Romans 7:18) However, I have learned that God can use even me, and I desire to be available to Him. In the past I have been ambitious for miracles, but I have come to the place that I will rejoice if He chooses to do them through me, however, I seek Him more than I seek His hand. “May Your Name be acknowledged as holy; may Your kingdom come and Your will be done perfectly right here,” is increasingly the cry of my heart. I see so many things that I know are not pleasing to Him, and He once even told me personally that He wants many things to be different. I don’t know God’s timing, nor why he allows these things right now, but as it says in Hebrews, “But we see Jesus.” (Hebrews 2:9) I am to walk in faithful obedience, and trust Him.

Father, thank You for all You have done, are doing, and will do. Thank You that I can trust You to give me the faith I need at any moment, if I will accept it. Help me accept it! May I be Your agent in every area of my life, however You want to use me, for Your pleasure and glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

