January 12, 2016


Isaiah 44:8 “Do not tremble, do not be afraid.
Did I not proclaim this and foretell it long ago?
You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me?
No, there is no other Rock; I know not one.”

All sorts of things happen in the world, but when we recognize prophecy being fulfilled it should encourage us rather than make us afraid. That is certainly true today. Events in the Middle East and elsewhere have people around the world trying to figure out exactly where we are in the Biblical time-line, because this certainly has the feeling of prophetic fulfillment. The first speaker at this conference is someone who has been involved a good bit in spiritual warfare. He didn’t try to peg us on a time-line, but he was saying what so many feel, that we are indeed in the Last Days. Whereas many feel that, many more poo pooh it, saying that there have always been “wars and rumors of wars.” That’s true enough, but seeing events as fulfillment of prophecy should do two things. In the first place, it should give us assurance that God really is in control, just as this verse says. In the second place, it should cause us to think seriously about how we are to use the time we have left. The second, and main, speaker at this conference is someone who went through the tsunami and nuclear disaster of 2011, and one of his main points is that none of us has any guarantee of what will happen tomorrow. That’s something no human being likes to admit. There was even Japanese popular song a few years ago that would translate as, “There’s always tomorrow.” I have mentioned that song in sermons in the past, pointing out that it is a lie, but this speaker certainly has experience to back up that point! Every believer needs to be a faithful steward of each day they are given, not procrastinating but earnestly seeking the Lord’s will and doing it with their whole heart. That doesn’t mean we aren’t to rest; God intends that we do, and even Jesus rested. However, we need to get rid of the “some day” mentality, doing right now what God directs, so that we may participate fully in His plans for His glory.

I have felt for many years that procrastination was one of my “strong suits,” and my father felt the same way. His life was actually a good illustration of why that’s a bad idea, because he didn’t wake up from heart surgery at 64, when everyone assumed he would live much longer. I’ve already outlived him by a few years, so that should be a strong lesson to me! I am not to be fearful, or fail to plan for the future, but I am to live each day without leaving things undone that God has said to do. I am to speak as God directs and act as God directs and leave the results in His hands. I am to remember that I am in the flow of His plans for the world and rejoice to participate in them, without pride but without holding back. As He says in this verse, He is God, and that is enough to know.

Father, thank You for this strong Word. Help me be obedient! The book You have started giving me comes to mind. I’ve let that slide, with one excuse and another. I have failed to speak to people at times because of my schedule, rather than seeking Your schedule. May I remember that I am on Your timetable, and not miss any “stops,” whether I see them as major or minor. May I do Your will on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January 12, 2016

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    “I am to live each day without leaving things undone that God has said to do. I am to speak as God directs and act as God directs and leave the results in His hands. I am to remember that I am in the flow of His plans for the world and rejoice to participate in them, without pride but without holding back. As He says in this verse, He is God, and that is enough to know.” Beautiful! I’ve never been one for interpreting Biblical prophecy, as I’ve always seemed to have enough on my plate as it is, just getting through this day. You’ve pretty much summed it up, brother. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

