February 4, 2016


Matthew 28:8 So the women hurried away from the tomb, afraid yet filled with joy, and ran to tell his disciples.

We can only imagine the ferocious storm of emotions those women were experiencing. The events of Jesus’ trial and crucifixion had doubtless rubbed them totally raw, and then, when they had come to the tomb after the Sabbath to anoint Jesus’ body, doubtless filled with inexpressible sorrow, they encountered an angel who, true to form, scared the living daylights out of them. The guards, who had real reason to be afraid, passed out from the intensity of their fear. The women heard what the angel told them, but it was so incredible that I’m sure it hadn’t really sunk in, when they encountered the risen Christ. Their endocrine system got a total workout! The thing is, emotions are part of how God created us, and they are a blessing. Life would hardly be worth living without them, because it would have no flavor, so to speak. (Over-medication for bipolar disorder can have that effect, and it is really pathetic to see.) However, in this fallen world we are all too prone to be whipped around and controlled by our emotions, and that is an aberration. Some people become emotion junkies of one stripe or another. Those who do dangerous sports are often hooked on the adrenaline rush they get, much like those who like horror movies, or even those who love “tearjerker” movies and videos. The thing is, all of those are placing the emotion itself as the goal, and that is at best a distortion. Josephus reports that Jesus was known as an emotional person, and that his emotions could change very suddenly, but the Bible makes it clear He didn’t let those emotions control Him. Rather, He was totally fixed on obedience to His Father and love for His children. That is the example we are to emulate, not being afraid of emotions but keeping them subject to God, as tools and not masters. We are to master them, and not let them master us!

I am naturally as emotional as anyone, but I have a strong analytical streak that helps me be objective most of the time. It is interesting that it makes me angry to get angry, because I don’t like to be angry! Right now I am in a time of heightened emotional tension, with my daughters arriving from the US today, and then a whirlwind of activities before my wife enters the hospital Monday for brain surgery on Wednesday. I am not to reject the blessings God has for me in this time out of fear or anxiety. As Paul said, if I will release and commit everything to God, His peace will guard my heart and my mind. (Philippians 4:6-7) Right now Cathy and I are both short on sleep because of all the adrenaline, so we should fit right in with our daughters’ jet lag! I am to keep the family anchored and focused on God and His good plans for us, not denying emotion but not being controlled by it either, so that we won’t miss any of the blessings God intends.

Father, thank You for Your good plans. Thank You that both our daughters are well on their way, even though severe weather kept our older daughter from making the flight that was to allow her to fly with her sister most of the way. I do pray for physical and emotional strength for them both, as well as safe arrivals. May the days ahead flow on Your schedule, accomplishing all that You intend, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February 4, 2016

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    Oh, please do keep us “posted” when you can and you are in my prayers.

  2. leneijapan says:

    I can’t imagine what you are facing, but a heart committed to the Lord is a heart in the best Hands! Praying for you.

  3. Alice Hooker says:

    I don’t usually check your blogs (sorry), but I’m glad I saw this one. I’m “trolling” for updates after the sodan. We love you!

Leave a Reply

