April 2, 2016


2 Samuel 7:18 Then King David went in and sat before the Lord, and he said:
“Who am I, O Sovereign Lord, and what is my family, that you have brought me this far?

The outstanding thing about this prayer of David is the humility that shines in every sentence. Humility was a rare thing in kings (as it is in politicians today) and that makes it all the more remarkable. David was genuinely blown out of the water by what the Lord had said to him through Nathan in the previous 17 verses, and this prayer is the result. It is entirely focused on God, in total amazement that He would pour out such blessings on David. David had seen Saul chosen and then deposed, and he considered himself to be in danger of the same. Now God has said that his successors would be his descendants, and that he himself would have a close, intimate relationship with his Creator. Actually, he didn’t even realize the very best part, and that was that the Messiah would come from his descendants. In any case, he had no illusions of being worthy of all that, and this prayer is the response. Today we tend to be rather far from David’s attitude, acting like spoiled brats rather than recognizing how very patient and gracious God has been toward us. We complain at the least inconvenience and always demand more. What James said about this comes to mind: “You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.” (James 4:2-3) That’s the polar opposite of David’s attitude here.

I’m preaching to myself. I’ve learned a few things about the grace of God over the years, but I still have room to grow. I’ve never been a slave trader, but I have definitely learned that God’s grace is amazing. The challenge to me, as it is to everyone, is stewardship of all that God has poured out. The minute I think I deserve all the blessings I start being a poor steward of them. The minute I complain about what I don’t have I start failing to enjoy and make the best use of what I do have. I live a life of what would have been inconceivable luxury and opportunity just a generation or two ago, and yet I grouse over little things! I talk about the “entitlement mentality” of so many people today, and yet I overlook that exact trait in myself. I need to let God open my eyes to recognize better His incredible grace toward me, so that as a good steward of that grace I may extend it effectively to others, for their salvation and His glory.

Father, forgive me for the presumption I fall into so easily. Help me stay aware of the magnificence of Your grace so that I may walk in gratitude and joy. You have poured so much out on me that I can’t even perceive it all, much less exercise it fully in Your service. Help me be a better steward of Your grace, drawing many into Your family as You desire, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

