April 3, 2016


2 Samuel 15:25-26 Then the king said to Zadok, “Take the ark of God back into the city. If I find favor in the Lord’s eyes, he will bring me back and let me see it and his dwelling-place again. But if he says, ‘I am not pleased with you,’ then I am ready; let him do to me whatever seems good to him.”

Once again we have an example of David’s humility and submission before the Lord. I dare say the considerable wisdom, even craftiness, he displayed immediately after this was a result of that humility. He trusted God to do what was best, whether that agreed with what he personally desired or not. That’s an attitude we would all certainly do well to emulate! His statement here was addressed to people rather than to God, but it still beings to mind Jesus’ prayer in Gethsemane: “Not as I will, but as You will.” (Matthew 26:39) This is what the Bible is talking about when it says that “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.” (Proverbs 9:10) When God is our first priority, He will guide us beyond anything we could manage on our own. David was facing a coup de etat by one of his own sons, but God gave him wisdom to the point that he came through even more firmly in control of the nation than before. If we will walk in the level of trust in God that David was displaying here, we too will see results better that anyone might have predicted.

I’ve never faced this particular level of crisis, but I have had “rebellion in the ranks,” so to speak, and God has brought me through it. However, the nature of the crisis isn’t the issue, it’s the whole matter of trusting God enough to be obedient to whatever He shows me, whether that agrees with my natural inclinations or not. I face various issues all the time, and as He has shown me, God’s smart and I’m not. I’m not to discard the intellect the Lord has given me, but my starting point, and my ending point, must be God and what He wants, rather than what my own intellect can devise. God is far better able to deal with any situation than I am!

Father, thank You for Your grace that provides all that we need out of the love that You are. Thank You that I have no reason to be anxious about anything at all. That’s a hard thing to remember at times! Today is a full day, and then we get an early start tomorrow for a three-day trip, and I’ve got a runny nose. Help me take each step in full obedience to You, resting, relaxing, and rejoicing, so that all of Your plans involving me may be fulfilled, on Your schedule and for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

