April 18, 2016


1 Chronicles 29:14 “But who am I, and who are my people, that we should be able to give as generously as this? Everything comes from you, and we have given you only what comes from your hand.”

I think the fundamental key to David being a man after God’s own heart (Acts 13:22) was his humility before God. He was totally bold from youth, as is evidenced by his encounter with Goliath, which was preceded by encounters with lions and bears, but he knew that everything he had was from God. Just yesterday I preached on self-confidence (which in Japanese is a homophone for earthquake). To outside observers, David probably seemed very self-confident, but this verse shows that he was not. He did get into real trouble when he took his eyes off of God, but he was deeply, fundamentally, aware that he was totally dependent on God. The world today ridicules that attitude. Of the current candidates for President of the United States, only one seems to display that attitude, but most of the world doesn’t seem to notice. That’s not a valued attribute in most people’s opinion. How sad, and potentially disastrous! These days self-promotion seems to be the key, and some of the most famous people got that way by throwing themselves into the gutter, so to speak, just to get noticed, and now they are famous for being famous. How pathetic! David here states truth we all need to remember, however much the world tells us to forget it.

I have been greatly blessed, but there is no question in my mind that it is all grace, and not something I have worked up. For example, you don’t get to choose your own IQ! That means that the big issue for me, as it actually is for everyone, is stewardship. Since everything I have comes from God, how does He want me to use it? That applies to finances, as David was dealing with in this verse, but it also deals with every other detail of my life. I am to have a clear-eyed assessment of what is available to me, and I am to make the use that God intends of every bit of it. That applies down to every second of the day. Life is measured in time, and since my life is a gift from God, my time is to be returned to Him by being used as He intends and desires. The next four months look to be very busy, and I tend to stress out at that. Rather than stress out, I am to consciously give each minute back to God, since He gave it to me in the first place, and not resent what I have to do or what I don’t get to do. I belong to Him, so it’s His business, and I am to be grateful.

Father, thank You for this very timely reminder. Today’s schedule looks very full, with my nursing school classes starting back up today and various other things. Help me rest, relax, and rejoice in You each minute of today, letting Your love and grace flow through me to all I encounter, for their blessing and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

