May 5, 2016


Psalm 4:2 How long, O men, will you turn my glory into shame?
How long will you love delusions and seek false gods?

I think God is saying this even today. In a footnote the NIV gives “lies” as an alternative to “false gods,” and that is the way the Japanese translates it as well. That broadens this considerably and makes it even more applicable to current events. Americans are demonstrating in droves that they are seeking lies, supporting politicians who ridicule God and His Word by their words, actions, and lifestyles. Such things are lies, and come from the father of lies. (John 8:44) It is some comfort to read the passage where Jesus described the devil that way, because after all the horror of Jesus’ arrest, trial, scourging and crucifixion, resurrection happened. America, and indeed the world, seems determined to go to hell, but God is still God. Like Daniel, Ezra, and Nehemiah, we need to repent of the sins of our culture and nation, recognizing that we have had a part in them, through inaction at the very least, and seek Him for what we are to do and how we are to live now. Light shines brightest when the surroundings are dark, and every child of God needs to take seriously Jesus’ words about light and salt. (Matthew 5:13-16)

I told my wife this morning that I felt like I woke up but the nightmare was still going on. It was a real gut punch yesterday to read that the one presidential candidate whom I felt I could vote for in good conscience had dropped out. I certainly don’t blame him, but I see the circumstances that brought him to that decision as evidence the judgment of God is coming on America, and that grieves me deeply. At the same time, I am not to stop praying and trusting God, knowing that He can and does use horrible circumstances for good, and for His glory. (Romans 8:28) I am to continue to be active in seeking to draw as many people as possible into God’s family, into a strong and active relationship with Jesus as Lord by the power of the Holy Spirit. As the hymn says, “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.” I am not dependent on anything temporal. I was not and am not fearful for myself personally, but I grieve indeed for what America is doing to itself. I am not to focus on that grief, but on the One who will wipe away every tear. (Isaiah 25:8, Revelation 7:17, 21:4)

Father, thank You for still being God. I continue to pray for Your mercy on America and on the world. Thank You that we have the assurance in Revelation that You are going to sort everything out in the end. Keep me from being anxious about how You are going to do that, but rather be active in my obedience to You in whatever part You have for me to play, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 5, 2016

  1. One reason I enjoy Psalms (Proverbs too) is that in contemplative practices like Lectio Divina, it promotes other questions. All humans love self-deception and practice it daily, so it must be part of the intended design – that our uniqueness among animals includes the capacity for (and interest in) lying to ourselves.

    How long will we love delusions?
    How long will time last?

Leave a Reply

