May 14, 2016


Psalm 55:22 Cast your cares on the Lord
and he will sustain you;
he will never let the righteous fall.

This verse immediately brings to mind 1 Peter 5:7. “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” At the same time, it brings to mind Psalm 91 and various other such passages. The Bible is very clear that God cares about us! Then, what about all the trials we experience? Even Old Testament saints didn’t have it easy, and the New Testament days had violent persecution. We are back to John 16:33. “’I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.’” Whatever we are going through, God does care, and He will bring it all to a good end. (Romans 8:28) To go back to our verse here, the NIV says “cares,” probably under the influence of the 1 Peter verse, but the Japanese and many English translations have “burdens.” Anxiety is a burden! We have expressions like, “take a load off my mind,” that acknowledge that. Frankly, if we try to carry it all ourselves, we will collapse. That’s why the Bible tells us to let God carry it. The Japanese in this verse uses an expression that means to yield, to give the other party both responsibility and authority. I don’t know that “cast” usually carries that much meaning, but I think that meaning is what is intended here. We tend to “place our burdens at the foot of the cross” (as preachers like to say) and then immediately pick them back up again! I say we, because though I am a preacher, I do it too. That’s why God repeats these instructions so many times throughout the Bible, so that we will have some chance at least of taking them to heart and following through.

This is actually a frequent struggle for me. I worry things over in my mind rather than stating the problem clearly, presenting it to God, and then taking my hands off of it. I know that’s what I’m supposed to do, because I tell people that in counseling situations all the time! However, in our humanity it’s not easy. The problem is twofold: my pride wants to come up with the solution myself, and my faith is too weak to trust God to have a solution that I perhaps can’t imagine. I’ve got to give those issues also to God! I can and must renounce my pride, and I can and must choose to trust God. If that is my heart, then He will supply everything that is necessary.

Father, this is certainly a lifelong journey. You have demonstrated Your faithfulness more times and in more ways than I could count, and yet I am so slow to learn. Help me indeed trust You totally, not in a passive way but in active obedience, so that I may be rid of the burdens the devil places on me and “run with patience the race that is set before me,” (Hebrews 12:2) to be and do all that You intend, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 14, 2016

  1. dawnlizjones says:

    “The problem is twofold: my pride wants to come up with the solution myself, and my faith is too weak to trust God to have a solution that I perhaps can’t imagine” Again, so very, very timely for me.Thank you and AMEN to that prayer.

Leave a Reply

