June 3, 2016


Psalm 8:3-4 When I consider your heavens,
the work of your fingers,
the moon and the stars,
which you have set in place,
what is man that you are mindful of him,
the son of man that you care for him?

Modern light pollution has robbed the average person of the sense of perspective that David expresses here. There are plenty of magnificent images available on the Internet, but nothing compares to looking directly up at more stars than you could possibly count. The more we know of the vastness of the universe, courtesy of the Hubble and other such telescopes, the more awed we should be that God really does care about individual human beings. There are those who want to deny that He does, because they want to escape accountability, but when they face the end of their lives, who will they depend on? In David’s day they knew only as much as could be seen with the naked eye, but that was enough to make him and others seek their Creator. David had the huge advantage of being a descendant of Abraham, whom God had chosen as a contact person through whom to give knowledge of Himself to mankind. As a result, David knew that his Creator was holy and just and did not ask for such things as infant sacrifice. Many of the nations around him did not have that awareness, just as the devil is working to remove that awareness from modern society. America has sacrificed far more infants to Molech than the Philistines ever did! We lose a great deal when we lose the sense of wonder that the Creator of the universe would care about us. That’s why Jesus’ message, in the simplest terms, was, “Repent and believe.” (Mark 1:15) We need to repent of our self-centeredness, our ignoring God and doing our own thing, before we can believe that He does care intimately about us, despite having created the vastness of the universe. Only then can we receive the incredible gift of eternal life through His Son, and rejoice to be His children. (John 3:16, 1:12-13)

I grew up in a family that was more academic/scientific than most, since all four of my grandparents were college graduates and both my grandfathers and my father earned doctorates. National Geographic Magazine was a major part of my education, since we had back issues going back to the 1930s, and I loved to sit and read them. By the 4th grade I was reading our Encyclopedia Britannica for fun, and I entered college as a Chemistry major. The bigger blessing was that it was also a family of faith. One of my grandfathers was a pastor and the other a seminary professor, and my father was a missionary and university chancellor. I was encouraged to learn as much as I could about this magnificent universe our heavenly Father had created. I can’t think of a better intellectual and spiritual foundation for life! I am at times overwhelmed by the magnificence of God’s grace toward me. This passage really resonates for me. I can’t begin to explain why God would love us so much, but I am totally convinced that He does, and I am eternally grateful.

Father, there really are no words to express my gratitude. Thank You that when I am before Your throne, words will no longer be an issue. Help me live out my gratitude in full obedience right here and right now, so that all that You desire in, for, and of me will be fulfilled, on Your schedule and for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

