June 11, 2016


Psalm 19:14 May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
be pleasing in your sight,
O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.

This Psalm is dearly loved, and for good reason. It starts by saying how the natural order demonstrates God without needing language, then it goes to talking about God’s use of language in giving His commands to mankind, and then it talks about the speaker’s own thoughts and words. That’s a very natural and meaningful progression, going from the vast to the intensely personal. David was a gifted and skillful poet indeed, but more importantly, he knew God. We all need to emulate him, understanding that nothing could exist without God, even the furthest reaches of the universe. We also need to accept that despite the infinitude of God, He cares intimately about each one of us, giving us instructions so that we may lead the best possible lives, relating rightly to Him and to each other. And then, we need to acknowledge our own personal responsibility and accountability before Him, all the way down to our thoughts. We all stumble at one or more of those points. That’s why we need a Redeemer, and to believe that God provided that Redeemer in His Son Jesus. David didn’t know Jesus, since biologically He was David’s descendant, but he knew enough of God to know that was taken care of, whatever form it took.

Thankfully, I had good input in all these areas from childhood, since my parents valued science, loved the Bible, and had deep, personal relationships with Jesus Christ as Lord. I wish every child could grow up in such an environment! However, I am never to “rest on my laurels,” so to speak, and think I’ve arrived. There’s always more to learn about the natural universe, and it’s fascinating. The Bible is a daily companion and nourishment for my soul. And I too must be on my guard against hidden sins, asking God to purify both my words and my thoughts. I am charged with leading people in all three of these areas, but I must never do so with an attitude of pride. I am not to withdraw into false humility, thinking I can teach nothing, because as I was pointing out to some people the other day, even a 2nd grader can teach a 1st grader some things. I am not to be stingy or exclusive with what God has taught me, but share it in all grace and humility. At the same time I am to keep pressing forward, learning and growing in every area, to be and do all that God intends for me, for His glory.

Father, You are so incredibly gracious! Thank You for all that You have done, all You are doing right now, and all that You are going to do in the future. We are in the middle of some things that seem pretty big to us right now, and that can be very stressful. Help us trust You fully with all the details, accepting and learning what You have taught us in the past and applying it faithfully right now, so that all of Your plans may be fulfilled on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

