June 23, 2016


Psalm 38:21-22 O Lord, do not forsake me;
be not far from me, O my God.
Come quickly to help me,
O Lord my Savior.

The most striking thing about David to me is that God was everything to him. Even when he felt that his troubles were God’s punishment for his sin he didn’t try to run away from God, but rather asked God to be close to him. To me he exemplifies a good son, which is probably one factor in God having His Son be called, among other things, Son of David. We are very prone to ignore God, or even try to avoid Him, when that is absurd on the face of it. After all, since He is infinite, there is literally nowhere we could get away from Him, as it says in Psalm 139 – which is also by David! David had the good sense to turn to God instead of away from Him no matter what was going on. That is something we all should learn from and emulate.

This has been one of the greatest blessings of my life. I was raised in a home where God was a given, by parents who had committed their lives to Him. That’s not something I chose, certainly, but I can think of no better environment for any child. We know very little about David’s father Jesse, and off hand I have no idea whether we know his mother’s name at all, (my wife researched it and says the Talmud says her name was Nitzevet (Nzb’th)) but they must have loved God for David to have turned out as he did. However, David himself was largely a failure at parenting, so his parents must not have been too perfect an example. Looking at my children, both physical and spiritual, I see that my track record is spotty to say the least. There are those who are totally committed to the Lord, those for whom He is nice to have around, and those who seem to see Him as an inconvenience. There is certainly personal responsibility in their individual attitudes, but I obviously could do better as a parent. It was a great blessing when one of our daughters, now a parent herself, called us to say, “Thank you for doing your best.” That was a pretty tearful phone call, on both sides of the Pacific! I am still very active in parenting/mentoring spiritual children right here, and I am at times painfully aware that I cannot control how they will respond to what I say or do. I need to love them enough to speak God’s truth to them, as much as possible in ways that they can receive it. Sometimes that truth is that they need to repent, and that isn’t easy to communicate. I am to recognize, and rejoice in the fact, that I am a recipient of God’s overwhelming grace, and so in turn be a channel of that grace to those around me, for their blessing and God’s glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder. I had no idea this was where we were going when you indicated I was to write on these verses. May I be an obedient and useful son/servant to You at all times, whether I know where I’m headed or not! As I relate to my children, both physical and spiritual, help me remember that they are first Your children, and so relate to them as You desire, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

