June 25, 2016


Psalm 41:4 I said, “O Lord, have mercy on me;
heal me, for I have sinned against you.”

It could well be simply a quirk of the Hebrew language, but it strikes me that the Japanese sticks with the original text here and says, “heal my soul,” rather than just “heal me.” Physical illness is certainly real, obviously enough, but research continues to show more and more connection between the physical and the intangible. Saying something is “psychosomatic” seems to carry the inference that it’s not a real disease, but the results can be no less fatal! We are triune beings, with spirits, souls, and bodies. Materialists focus just on the body, while psychologists and psychiatrists are showing more and more about the soul, but the Bible speaks of the spirit as well. We aren’t going to enjoy genuine health without all three being in good shape. The problem is, while more and more physicians are considering the soul in their treatments, hardly any deal with the spirit. Without any of the benefits of modern medicine, David still got it right, turning to God, who is Spirit, to heal his soul and body. God does use medicine and medical techniques, but we must never forget that He is the source of all true healing, even as the Bible says. (Exodus 15:26, Psalm 107:20)

I have had a great deal of interaction with the medical profession over the years. I have great respect for it, but at the same time I am very aware of the truth of what I have just written. Encounters with MD’s and PhD’s who have refused to acknowledge anything but the physical have been frustrating to say the least. I am not to look down on them, because “Pride goes before destruction, a haughty spirit before a fall,” (Proverbs 16:18) but neither am I to be intimidated by them. I am not to refuse medical treatment, for myself or for others, but I am to seek God first, whoever is involved, and see what He has to say. A gifted physician who is committed to the Lord and humble before Him is a treasure indeed. I am to pray for the many physicians I know, that they would come to know Christ and be committed to Him. Then, and only then, will they be able to treat body, soul, and spirit.

Father, thank You for Your grace to me. Thank You for using me from time to time in treating people’s souls and spirits. It seems like everyone I encounter – including me – needs healing to some degree in some area. Thank You for Your promise that none of that will be an issue when You make all things new. May I walk in all that You intend for me right now, rejoicing in Christ my Savior, (John 16:33) so that the works of the devil may be destroyed indeed, (1 John 3:8) for the liberation of many and for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

