July 1, 2016


Psalm 70:5 Yet I am poor and needy;
come quickly to me, O God.
You are my help and my deliverer;
O Lord, do not delay.

I would call this Psalm a short, honest prayer. It is essentially the same as the last part of Psalm 40, and quite possibly was either written first and then incorporated in the longer Psalm, or extracted from the longer Psalm to be used independently. Regardless, it is clear evidence that, like us, David sometimes got into a panic over God’s timing. Timing is a big issue for us because we are material (or at least our bodies are) and so are in the flow of time. Physics tells us that time cannot exist without matter, which has a huge impact on the question of Creation vs. anything else. Our human, finite minds really can’t conceive of a state without time or matter, whatever we might say, so those who refuse to acknowledge God try to claim that the universe has always existed. However, there is a mounting volume of evidence that indicates a point of origin, commonly called the Big Bang. The irony of an atheist talking about the moment of Creation is extreme! All of that aside, it is clear that God is outside of time, as He is not made up of atoms, so it goes without saying that “With the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years are like a day.” (2 Peter 3:8) It is absolutely astounding that an uneducated fisherman like Peter would have such insight, which proves that he understood this issue by Divine revelation. People in his day struggled with this issue like David did, and we still do so today. God is never late, but He is seldom early. From our perspective we accuse Him often of being late, but there is always a purpose to His timing, just as Peter discussed. The point for us is to trust Him, specifically on this issue of timing, without being passive. We are always to be active in pressing in closer to Him, to hear Him more clearly and obey Him more accurately, but that must include leaving control in His hands, and that includes timing.

Timing is a very personal issue for me, since I hate to be late for anything, so this whole matter of trusting God’s timing has been a struggle, and I’m not over it yet. I find that when I am when I am up­tight about when one particular thing is going to happen, I generally am letting other things that I should be doing slide, sometimes to very bad effect. There are various things in the works right now that I would dearly love to see resolved, but I have to trust God with His timing. That’s especially difficult when my activity is directly involved. At the same time I want God to hurry up and act, I procrastinate! There are all sorts of distractions, but none of them are any sort of legitimate excuse. I need to be humbly, actively obedient, not worried about my comfort zone but seeking first God’s kingdom and His righteousness. If I do that, I will always be operating on God’s schedule, for the blessing of many and for His glory.

Father, You know the things that face me far better than I do. Help me deal with each thing as You want me to, neither being anxious nor making excuses. Help me indeed do what You desire, on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

