July 6, 2016


Psalm 75:6-7 No one from the east or the west
or from the desert can exalt a man.
But it is God who judges:
He brings one down, he exalts another.

This is something we see and yet have a hard time accepting, and at the same time it is something of a mystery. People who are manifestly evil, such as Hitler, rise up and do a great deal of damage before they are brought down. “Back room politics” have gotten quite a few people elected to high office. At the same time, God is still sovereign; nothing can happen without His permission. He created mankind with free will, and most of the time He allows that to play out. The current political situation in America is an excellent case in point. We tend to focus on who seems to be at the top of the heap, but God sees everything that is going on. We draw back from saying that things are “judgments of God,” but the Bible isn’t so politically correct as to hesitate to say that. When unsavory people seem to rise, we need to examine the conditions that allowed that to happen. In America today, the level of ignorance is at times astounding, and the level of morality is too often abysmal. Under such circumstances, what rises isn’t cream, it’s scum; our leaders are a reflection of ourselves. As Franklin Graham and others are pointing out, what America needs is repentance. Daniel is an excellent example in this area, because even though he was personally righteous, he repented of the sins of his nation, his people, and didn’t claim those sins had nothing to do with him. Christians in America have been blind and passive for too long, allowing themselves to be polluted by the rising tide of filth instead of seeking God and His righteousness. As some are pointing out today, if the pulpits were pure, the people would be challenged to righteousness and the nation would be healthy, instead of diseased almost beyond recognition.

The situation in America has been very much in my awareness over the past few years. If I didn’t have children and grandchildren there I perhaps wouldn’t feel it so sharply. However, I must not let other people’s sins blind me to my own; the moral climate around the world is such that no Christian should let their guard down. This is hardly a new problem, and the whole Bible has a lot to say about it. I find the issue raised almost every time I read the Bible! I am to walk in personal purity and faithfulness, never thinking I am above it all, because such conceit lays me wide open to the devil. I am to speak the truth in love at all times, speaking into lives and situations as the Lord gives opportunity, and making full use of those opportunities. (Colossians 4:5)

Father, I get so tied in knots over things at times. You have told me to rest, relax, and rejoice, yet I deviate from that all too often. Help me remember always that You are God, Jesus is Lord, and the Holy Spirit in me is greater than he who is in the world. (1 John 4:4) May I be an open, available channel of Your grace for however and to whomever You choose to use me, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

