July 10, 2016


Psalm 83:18 Let them know that you, whose name is the Lord—
that you alone are the Most High over all the earth.

This Psalmist was focused on human enemies, but the prayer in this verse, at least, is valid in every application. From the beginning of mankind the devil has been out to convince people that there are other gods than Yahweh, because his hunger is for the worship that belongs to God alone. He is behind every push in that direction, every false religion, including faux atheism that substitutes man for God. This Psalm seems a bit violent, but it is essentially saying, “Show who You are, Lord, because they seem to have no idea.” Today that would apply even to many nominal Christians! The majority of Americans polled have lost the concept of absolute truth, and that is part of this whole picture. The phrase, “God said it, I believe it, that settles it,” has very sincere roots, but too many people take it to mean that if they don’t believe it, it’s not settled. It would be more accurately expressed as, “God said it, that settles it, so I’d better believe it.” “Tolerance” has been elevated to some sort of “highest good” status, to the point of complete idiocy. Those who demand it most vehemently are in fact completely intolerant of anyone who doesn’t toe their particular line. It is not unreasonable to ask God to knock some sense into people’s heads, even with the awareness that some of those heads might crack! A genuinely New Testament faith doesn’t force itself on anyone, but it is absolutely uncompromising about truth. That’s not to say that there isn’t room for some disagreement, but we must not let anything but God have that highest place in our hearts and lives.

Looking at what I have just written, I realize that I will immediately be branded a bigot by a lot of people, even some I am close to, either by blood or association. I am also aware that, as C. S. Lewis pointed out, it is certain that when we get before God’s throne we will each of us discover that we were wrong somewhere. I am not to be holier-than-thou; I am not to look down my nose at anyone. That said, I am never to compromise the truth of God, but insist on it in love. Those who, either by choice or simply by being deceived, serve the devil will accuse me of everything in the book, but I must not be moved. I am to pray with the Psalmist that God would demonstrate that He alone is God over all creation.

Father, I know that it breaks Your heart much more than it breaks mine that so many people are wallowing in rebellion and deception. However, I also know that none of this surprises You. Help me walk in simple, faithful obedience at all times, whatever is going on around me, so that I may not get in Your way but rather be fully useful to You, so that Your plans may be fulfilled on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

