July 13, 2015


Psalm 92:14 They will still bear fruit in old age,
they will stay fresh and green.

This is certainly an encouraging Scripture for any senior citizen! However, the previous two verses set the conditions for this condition: being righteous, planted in the house of the Lord. There are many who grow old and bitter. Any fruit they bear isn’t worth having! There are also those who grow increasingly self-centered with age. They don’t bear much good fruit either. It is indeed when we seek first God’s kingdom and His righteousness (Matthew 6:33) that we enjoy all the benefits of being God’s children. Someone who is righteous by God’s definition will indeed be “planted” in His presence. Active participation in a local congregation is extremely likely, but this certainly isn’t limited to that. This is talking about abiding in Him continuously, drawing nourishment from His Word, that Living Water that provides the very best nutrients (as in hydroponic farming). Such a person will indeed bear the Fruit of the Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23) in abundance, along with the sacrifice of praise (Hebrews 13:15) and other fruit as well. Our bodies age, yes, but our spirits can and should continue to grow.

Currently in a battle with my kidneys, I am very aware of physical age and limitations. That said, my focus is not only on my body but on my Lord. My body can yell pretty loudly at times, but it’s not my first priority, nor my master. I am to focus on staying planted in my Lord, in His Word, so that His righteousness may be manifested in and through me. I can’t do that in my own strength, but He has demonstrated time and time again that His grace is sufficient. (2 Corinthians 12:9) It is interesting that God pointed that out to Paul in the context of a physical problem. Few things cause us to focus inward more than pain, but God says, quite rightly, that even in such situations we need to abide in Him. I am in such a training time, and I need to give Him thanks and praise for this opportunity to draw closer to Him, rearranging my priorities in line with His, so that His will may be done in and through me on His schedule for His glory.

Father, thank You for what You are allowing me to go through. Thank You that what the devil intends for evil, You will use for great good. I have a lot on my schedule the next three days. Help me recognize what is of You and what is not, and rest, relax, and rejoice in You, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

