August 3, 2016


Psalm 125:3 The scepter of the wicked will not remain
over the land allotted to the righteous,
for then the righteous might use
their hands to do evil.

This reads like a promise, but it sounds more descriptive to me. When those in government are evil, the whole country tends to do evil. Proverbs 28:12 has this to say: “When the righteous triumph, there is great elation; but when the wicked rise to power, men go into hiding.” America is faced with a terrible dilemma at this point, and as Ted Cruz said, everyone is being called to vote their conscience. Realistically speaking, we have two deeply flawed candidates for president, to the point that we are faced with evaluating who will do less damage. Rather than the candidate himself or herself, we need to look at who they will surround themselves with, because government is never a single individual. The longer this goes on, the more I find myself in agreement with Franklin Graham, who is stressing that we cannot look for salvation in political parties or politicians. America is in drastic need of repentance, or it is headed for total destruction. That needs to take place at the highest levels, certainly, but it also needs to come from the bottom up. In some ways China is the most hopeful major country, because they have a horrible government but the number of dedicated Christians throughout the country is growing exponentially, and that is what has the government worried. There is real potential for the nation to be transformed by faith in Christ. That is exactly what needs to happen in America, too. America has been coasting on marvelous founding documents and a couple of real, widespread revivals, but complacency at the grass roots will allow evil to flourish. Believers in America need to remember that God is sovereign, and start living like Jesus is Lord in their personal lives. The decadence of popular culture is astounding at times, but nothing is impossible for God, as He reminds us repeatedly throughout the Bible. America will only fulfill its potential if the people turn back to their Creator and reject the lies of the enemy of our souls.

I don’t think I have ever been as emotionally involved in politics as I am at this point, and it can be exhausting. That shows that I need to correct my own focus, from people to the One who created them. I need to remember that when I pray that His name be acknowledged as holy and His kingdom come, it starts with me and the details of my life. When I pray that His will be done on earth as it is in heaven, I need to offer myself as an instrument of His will in relation to the people I encounter every day. I need to be a channel of His grace and love, communicating the Gospel in the power of the Holy Spirit. Since I don’t live in the country of my citizenship, participation in local government isn’t an option for me, but that doesn’t keep me from being part of God’s government, simply by carrying His presence with me wherever I go.

Father, I pray for Your American children. I pray that each one would wake up to the spiritual authority You have invested in them and their responsibility to exercise that in each area of their lives. I pray that each one would start praying the Lord’s Prayer with understanding, offering themselves as Your instruments to fulfill that for which they say they are praying, so that Your kingdom would indeed come as Your children do Your will in full obedience, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

