August 11, 2016


Psalm 142:3 When my spirit grows faint within me,
it is you who know my way.

The attribution for this Psalm says that David wrote it “when he was in the cave.” That places it in the period when he was running for his life from Saul. Not too many of us have our faith tried like that! However, all of us have times when we are simply worn out, when, as David says here, our spirits grow faint. In times like that we need to remember, as David did, that God knows the way for us; all we have to do is follow Him. Emotional exhaustion will blind us to what is really going on around us, so we’ve got to keep our primary connection in place, seeking God first regardless of our circumstances. It’s amazing how easily we forget that and try to depend on other things: on people, finances, even our own abilities. All of those have their limits and are ultimately unreliable. God alone really knows our way and can get us through it.

I consider it a blessing that I am increasingly aware of my own inability, while having a growing assurance of God’s omnipotence and grace. As a pastor I am frequently asked for guidance and counsel. If I rely on my own intellect and experience there’s a possibility I’ll get it right, but a very large possibility I’ll get it wrong. It is God who knows our way! I’ve got to keep that in focus as I talk with people and pray for them. It is interesting that often the words I use in praying for them turn out to be God’s words to them, giving them assurance of His love and pointing out the next step, even if they can’t see more than the one step ahead. I’m not to be proud or presumptive about that, either, but remember that apart from Christ I can do nothing. (John 15:5) I don’t know my own way that well, but I do know the final destination, and I need to rest, relax, and rejoice in that assurance.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Help me stay humble before You, like a weaned child with his mother, as You pointed out just recently. (Psalm 131:2) Help me reject every temptation to anxiety, but rather trust that You indeed know my way, and will guide me in it. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

