September 22, 2016


Habakkuk 1:11 “…guilty men, whose own strength is their god.”

This snippet of description is astounding, really. For one thing, it is a marvelous use of words, painting a vivid description with a minimum of effort. We all know of people like that, and we probably know some personally. There are all kinds of strength, and all of them are worshiped sometimes by some people. That automatically makes those people guilty, because they are guilty of idolatry at the very least. However, far more amazing than the literary turn of phrase here is the fact that these were the people God was going to use for His purposes! Now THAT is mind-boggling! We usually think of God using holy people who are committed to Him, but here we have the opposite. This is the sort of thing that shows us that God’s ways are higher than ours, and His thoughts than ours. (Isaiah 55:9-10) The whole point is, God can use anything or anyone to do what He desires, even if it seems impossible to us. Our place is not to limit God by our limited perspective, and especially not refuse to be used by Him because we are “unworthy.” The Babylonians were hardly worthy!

I can name some people I know personally who fit the description in this verse, and frankly, both major candidates for the US presidency would seem to fit. (I think politicians are quite prone to this, because they tend to worship their own political power.) However, to be honest, I have fit this description myself, when I have effectively worshiped the intellect God gave me. We all run the risk! That said, that doesn’t eliminate me from being used by God, it just changes how much benefit I get out of it. If I want any benefit from it, then I indeed need to be consciously submitted to Him. I indeed want to be His agent so that His Name may be hallowed and His kingdom come, so listening obediently to Him needs to be my first priority. I don’t want to force Him to use me in spite of myself, I want Him to delight to use me, because that will be the greatest blessing for me and the greatest glory for Him.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Thank You for this trip we’ve started, and for how You have guided and blessed already. I pray that I would indeed rest, relax, and rejoice in You throughout the trip, because that will keep me in greatest availability to You, for the greatest blessing of the greatest number of people, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 22, 2016

  1. Bonsai says:

    Our talent and advantage is His not ours.

Leave a Reply

