October 30, 2016


Acts 3:6 Then Peter said, “Silver or gold I do not have, but what I have I give you. In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, walk.”

This is of course an extremely familiar story to anyone who ever attended Sunday School. A very nice little song has been made from this verse and verse 8 that I have sung countless times. That said, there is truth here that is often overlooked, even – or maybe especially – when this story is taught in Sunday School. That truth is that any believer who is fully committed to Jesus Christ as Lord has what Peter and John had, and may be used by God as they were. Frankly, if children started believing God and acting on that faith, their Sunday School teachers, not to mention their pastors, might be embarrassed! The thing is, we focus on the vessel instead of the contents, and so we miss God. The thing that made Peter so powerful here was that after his failure in denying Jesus, he knew without the shadow of a doubt that he was incapable of good in himself, but he had also seen and talked with the risen Jesus, and he was fully assured that God could do anything, even using him to do it. I will put in a note of caution here, and that is that Peter doubtless had a prompting from the Holy Spirit to act as he did. We aren’t to go running around looking for miracles to perform! However, we are to be sensitive to the Spirit and do whatever He indicates, regardless of how impossible that might be for us on our own. Heidi Baker comes to mind here. She has had quite a few experiences that are fully as dramatic as the ones Peter had. The thing is, when the Church became institutionalized, the necessity of direct connection to God was forgotten. If we trust in our forms and traditions, we won’t be seeing miracles like this! God wants us all to know what we have in Christ, as fully as Peter did, and act accordingly.

I have said for quite a few years that if and when the average Japanese believer in Christ wakes up to who they are and what they have in Him, not only the Church, but the nation and the whole world will be transformed. To be honest, the “faith climate” in the world today militates against miracles. It is no accident that the stories from Heidi Baker and others are from areas that most of us would consider “backward.” Modern technology isn’t bad, but we are too prone to depend on it instead of on God. The things you can do with a phone these days would have indeed been miraculous 50 years ago! I am not to ignore technology, but I must not let that distract me from God, which is all too possible. Frankly, I haven’t seen that many miracles in my own ministry, though I have seen a few. I would certainly like to see more! I perhaps need to know better what I don’t have so that I will know better what I do have, and so be as available to God as Peter was.

Father, this is yet another case of my not yet walking fully in the truth I know. Help me open up more and more to the flow of Your Spirit through me so that all of Your purposes for me may be fulfilled, in Your way on Your schedule for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

