December 3, 2016


Psalm 89:26-27 He will call out to me, ‘You are my Father,
my God, the Rock my Savior.’
I will also appoint him my firstborn,
the most exalted of the kings of the earth.

This passage was considered Messianic even in Jesus’ day, though they didn’t understand or accept how it applied to Him. Their concept was entirely temporal and material, when God’s plans are eternal. We today fall short when we fail to grasp that the eternal encompasses the temporal and material as well, because it is infinite. We have the whole Revelation to John to assure us that Jesus will indeed return as King, and we must not forget that. Our difficulty is in perspective, because we can only see from “ground level,” so to speak. Sometimes God gives us a “drone’s eye view” of what is going on, but even then our field of view and our perception of detail is limited. When God gives a vision it will be fulfilled, but we can’t specify the timing or the details. This is where faith comes in. We have to trust Him with it all, and know that He is faithful and true.

I am preaching to myself right now because I am in a crisis of faith and vision. From the time we started building this church building 18 years ago we have been praying for the land next door. Earlier this year someone came forward saying they wanted to give the money to be able to buy the land, but their money wouldn’t be available until this coming September. We have been making various preparations, but in a phone call to the current landowner last night, he said that he and his siblings are in the final stages of a contract to sell the land to a developer, with the formal signing expected in January. We have been planning to build a group home on the land, and everything has seemed to be lining up for that. I know full well that money is never a problem for God, but the amount and the time frame are a severe test of my faith. (Last night the landowner said the developer will pay him $275,000, as opposed to the $240,000 price he had told us before.) I need to release this to God, just as He had me release my dreams to Him in 1981. At that point I had two dreams, one of returning to Japan as a missionary and the other of again supporting my family as a photographer. When the plans we had been making to return to Japan fell through completely I was devastated, and as I was out for a walk I was praying, “Lord, I believe You gave me these two dreams. I give them back to you. Do with them, and with me, as You desire.” In less than a month I was back in Japan, and was quickly given a job offer that allowed me to send for Cathy and our daughters, and I’ve been here ever since. The photography side, however, did not materialize, though God has allowed me to use photography in various ways. I need to release the matter of the land, and the group home we are planning to build on it, as completely to God as I did back in 1981. I don’t know whether this will prove to be a “return to Japan” item or a “professional photography” item, but the release, and trust, have to be complete.

Father, thank You for this experience. Thank You also that my assistant pastor just quoted my own words back to me about trials being for our benefit, before he knew anything about the land situa­tion. I do choose to release the land and the group home to You. Do with them, and with us, as You know is best, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

