February 4, 2017


Genesis 9:3 Everything that lives and moves will be food for you. Just as I gave you the green plants, I now give you everything.

This would certainly seem to be a definitive answer to vegans! In our current shrink-wrapped society we don’t like to think about how our food used to be alive, and many people react against hunting, thinking it cruel. However, you can’t get any more “free range” than that, with the deer, duck, or whatever living a perfectly natural life until they have one very bad day. The Bible as a whole doesn’t condone cruelty to animals, but it makes no bones about our being at the top of the food chain. Even this passage talks about respect for life, and lays the groundwork for Jesus’ blood sacrifice for us. Greed and cruelty are clearly antithetical to the character of God, in whose image we are created, but I really think it’s the devil who creates false dichotomies that deprive us of things God intended for our blessing. It’s good to note that this passage doesn’t support a meat-only diet either, but simply says that meat is to be added to the plant products that were already understood to be edible.

I’ve had some interesting encounters in this area. Personally, I’ve taken a deer while hunting, and I’ve butchered a pig and assisted with a couple of turkeys that started out live. Some people have been grossed out, even horrified, by that. In the 9th grade, I think it was, I did a report for biology class on comparative anatomy, dissecting and taking pictures of a frog, a fish, and a chicken, comparing the organs of each. With the chicken, my photo series continued to the plate of fried chicken my mother prepared, and then a plate of bones after the meal. I got an A! In contrast to that, I deal with someone who won’t knowingly eat any animal products at all. Their health really suffers for it. I don’t know if I can use this passage to correct their thinking, but I need to try. Paul dealt with this issue a lot, and I need to learn from how he handled it. God’s truth will always set us free from the lies of the enemy, who is only out to steal, kill, and destroy. (John 8:32; 10:10)

Father, thank you for Your abundant – and delicious – provision. Help me make the right use of what You provide as a good steward of my own body, and help others do the same, for their blessing and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

