March 3, 2017


Exodus 17:12 When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset.

God’s provision is often people. Aaron and Hur were God’s gifts to Moses, and to the nation of Israel, at this time. Given the simplicity of their task, others could have done the job, but Aaron and Hur would have lost out in that case. We sometimes overlook simple things, wanting “bigger challenges” or more glory, but as Jesus said, God tests our faithfulness in little things before He gives us big things to do. (Matthew 25:21, 32) The point is, we are to be available to God for however He wants to use us, to whomever He wants to “give” us. Sometimes we balk at helping particular people, for any of a number of reasons. They may have hurt us, or we might not like them for some other reason, or we might be prejudiced against them on racial or other grounds. We are always the biggest losers in such cases. We are to serve others as serving the Lord. (Ephesians 6:7) One of Jesus’ most famous parables is on precisely this point. (Matthew 25:34-45) One of the pivotal passages in understanding the Church deals with this issue as well In talking about what is called “the 5-fold ministry,” Paul says that such people are “given” to the Church, that is, they are God’s provision. Whether in big things or in small, if we want to receive God’s provision, we need to be available as His provision for others.

It is my experience that few things feel as good as realizing that I have been God’s provision to someone. Sometimes it’s inconvenient, sometimes it’s exhausting, sometimes there’s no human recognition for what I’ve done, but I know that my reward is in heaven. I wish I could say I maintain that awareness consistently, but I don’t. I need to stay firmly in the flow of God’s Spirit, not just so that He can carry me along but so that He can use me to meet the needs of others. I desire to be fully useful to Him, whatever that means, because I know that His plans are the absolute best, for me and for everyone else. (Jeremiah 29:11)

Father, thank You for using me. Thank You for the privilege of addressing the Rehabilitation College graduates last night. I was given more recognition that I’m used to, and frankly, it felt good. Help me serve gladly, not for human recognition but to please You, so that all of Your purposes may be fulfilled in and through me, for Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

