March 10, 2017


Exodus 34:32 Afterwards all the Israelites came near him, and he gave them all the commands the Lord had given him on Mount Sinai.

Once again we are reminded that when God gives something it is rarely just for the direct recipient. Some things are more that way than others, but everything God provides, whether materially or spiritually, impacts more than just one person, even if not immediately. That impact might be as simple as food giving us energy to serve others, or it might be as profound as God giving the Law to Moses so that it could be transmitted to all mankind. Especially in America we tend to glorify the individual, but that can blind us to what God is doing. In Japan there is great stress on social harmony, but that can blind us to God’s individual love and plan for each person. We need to grasp that God cares for us individually so much that He would have sent His Son just for one, but that He loves all of us, so, as my father pointed out, His plan for any one individual fits in perfectly with His plans for every other individual. We have trouble understanding that God is big enough and powerful enough to do that, because it is so obviously beyond human ability. We need to rejoice in what God gives us, whether it is simply a Word of encouragement or some material provision or anything in between, but we always need to be on the lookout for how that can bless someone else as well. If we are encouraged, we can encourage others. (2 Corinthians 1:4) If we are blessed materially, we can meet others’ needs. (2 Corinthians 9:11, Ephesians 4:28) In God’s economy, our blessing is multiplied when we pass it on as He intends.

This is something I’m continuing to learn. I’ve never been much of a financial giver, (other than tithes) but then I’ve never had that much in the way of finances. I’ve been given photographic ability, but my enjoyment is multiplied when others are blessed by the images I create. I hear from the Lord day by day, through His Word and otherwise, and that invariably has wider application than just to me. I have this blog and I’ve put out a book and I preach regularly, but I’ll still talk your ears off if given a chance, sharing what is stored up in my heart. There is an immense satisfaction to transmitting the Word of the Lord. I understand completely what Jesus meant when He said, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.” (John 4:34) There is joy and satisfaction, fulfillment, in transmitting God’s blessings as He intends that can be had no other way. I am to seek first His kingdom and His righteousness (Matthew 6:33) with the understanding that He wants to transmit those things through me to others as well, for His glory.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Help me be a better steward of all You have provided, and help me be a better judge of when, where, how, and to whom You want me to share it, so that neither I nor others will be frustrated, but rather Your plans and purposes be fulfilled, for Your pleasure and glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

