March 31, 2017


Deuteronomy 4:39 Acknowledge and take to heart this day that the Lord is God in heaven above and on the earth below. There is no other.

This is the definitive statement of monotheism. Many cultures balk at this. India is famous for its multiple gods, and Japan describes itself as “The Land of 8 Million Gods.” In human history, atheism as an organized thought system hardly reared its head before the end of the 19th Century, but over the next century it became the darling of the “intelligentsia.” The interesting thing is, numbers of really intelligent people, like Einstein, insisted that the universe couldn’t exist without a Creator. Just recently I watched a video of Michio Kaku, an astrophysicist who is very influential in the area of physics known as String Theory, and he was saying that the orderliness of the universe demands a Creator; chance couldn’t possibly explain its existence. However, both Einstein and Kaku had/have trouble with the idea of a personal God who cares about and is involved in the affairs of human beings. The problem is, that is at the very core of the Gospel. Actually, that is the shocking, scandalous foundation of the Bible, and thus Judaeo Christian society. From beginning to end, the Bible tells us that there is one God who created us, and He is both Holiness and Love. We have such trouble getting that through our heads! The attraction of atheism is that if there is no God, then there are no moral restraints, but as many people are pointing out, no one would really want to live in a world with no moral restraints, because they don’t want other people doing bad things to them, whatever they might want to do to other people. There is a severe logical inconsistency there. The only real solution to it all is a Creator who not only set up physical laws for the universe, He set up moral laws as well. It only stands to reason that the way to success comes from following the Creator’s Instruction Manual.

I had the enormous blessing of growing up in a home that was both intellectually/academically rigorous and totally dedicated to God who loves us enough to die for us. That formed the foundation of my world view, and I have benefited ever since. My frustration is that very few of the people I deal with have that same world view. Very few people think deeply enough about why the universe exists as it does, much less why they exist as they do. We are creatures of appetite and emotion, which isn’t bad in itself, but we need to go beyond that. My task as a witness to Christ, (Acts 1:8) not to mention being a pastor, is to speak the truth in love so that people’s eyes may be opened to God who loves them, so that they may repent of their imagined independence and believe the Good News of Christ, for their eternal salvation.

Father, You know me better than I know myself. You know that I love you, but that I am inconsistent in my obedience. You love me anyway, with Your amazing grace, and You continue to draw me closer to You. Thank You. You know how much I want to draw others into Your family, but that I can’t do it in my own strength and wisdom. I ask You to cleanse and fill me more and more so that nothing may interfere with Your Spirit drawing people to Yourself through me, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Praise God!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to March 31, 2017

  1. Great post. I am going to have to look up that physicist. I join you in the prayer at the end.

Leave a Reply

