April 5, 2017


John 11:27 “Yes, Lord,” she told him, “I believe that you are the Christ, the Son of God, who was to come into the world.”

It is very significant that this, the second of the two great declarations of who Jesus was and is, was made by a woman. The first was of course the one by Peter in Matthew 16:16. That passage gets quoted and preached on a lot, but this one gets relegated to funerals for the most part. It is glorious for that, but this verse is often left off. (I’ve done that myself.) Martha is often spoken of as less “spiritual” than her sister Mary, because of the incident in Luke 10:38-42 when Martha was concerned about “practical” things but Mary just wanted to listen to Jesus. However, here Martha is the one who is magnificent, with a clear-eyed faith that serves as an example for every believer even today. Her statement in verse 22 is one we all need to remember: “But I know that even now God will give you whatever you ask.” That was in the face of her brother having been buried for four days already! The Bible, and Jesus specifically, honors women to a degree that is often unrecognized. Peter, the one original Apostle we know for sure was married, recognized the physical differences between the sexes, but spoke of women as “equal heirs” of God’s blessings. (1 Peter 3:7) It is true that many men disrespect women even today, (and many women disrespect men) but the “feminist” movement has done little to restore Biblical balance. The inconsistencies in it are most obvious in their support for Islam, which has institutionalized the oppression of women to a degree that is unparalleled. God created men and women to be very different, and thus function differently, but as complete equals. Feminism focuses on the matter of equality to the point that they try to ignore or deny the differences. Much of the foundation of the whole LGBT movement is jealousy, which manifests in both directions. The devil is out to steal, kill, and destroy, (John 10:10) and sex is perhaps his favorite target. We have got to remember that “There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.” (Galatians 3:28)

Once again I am blessed by the home in which I was raised. My grandfather, W. O. Carver, was a champion of women serving God, and my mother was appointed as a missionary before my father was, even though she arrived in Japan later. (They were married in Japan.) That made her very resentful of being “relegated” to child care when I was an infant (I’m the youngest of four) because she was “just as much a missionary” as my father. It took a long time for her to realize that she was touching people that my father couldn’t touch, and I would guess that there are as many people in heaven because of her as because of him. In my own ministry, I know full well that I could not be and do what I am without my wife, and I am frequently impressed with how she touches people much more effectively than I do. I am in the more visible position, but I’m pretty confident she is more loved! I couldn’t begin to count how many times she has saved my skin (among other things) by a timely, Godly word or action. We are very different in many ways, but after 48 years we are a lot alike now, too. She is my Mary and my Martha (to get back to the original passage), and I am deeply grateful.

Father, I didn’t expect to write on this! Thank You for Your grace to us both. May we, as one in Christ, be and do all that You desire and intend, destroying the works of the devil and setting many people free, for their salvation and Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

