April 16, 2017


Luke 24:11 But they did not believe the women, because their words seemed to them like nonsense.

I have heard people be very dismissive of the apostles here, saying they wouldn’t believe the women just because they were women. Whereas it’s quite possible that influenced their response, the bigger problem was that what the women said conflicted with what their own minds had decided. It was a perfect example of, “My mind is made up. Don’t confuse me with the facts.” We do that far more than we realize. Rather than listening to what God is saying, we interpret what our senses tell us by what the world is saying, and so miss God entirely. That isn’t to say we are to ignore the minds God has given us, but it is to say we must give God higher priority and remain open to His reality being very different from what our senses tell us. Paul reminds us that God is “able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine,” (Ephesians 3:20) so it only stands to reason that His reality is different from ours. That isn’t limited to what we would call “good stuff,” however. God can reveal to us dangers that are not at all evident on the surface, and we had better be listening! This is the role of prophets, though not all who claim that title are hearing from God. We need to “keep in step with the Spirit,” as Paul said. (Galatians 5:25) If we will do that, we’ll hear what He is saying to us and be able to filter out the lies from various sources.

This is of course very applicable to me. As a rule I tend to trust my brain, and that can make me deaf to what God is saying. I don’t want that! I don’t want to be a “conspiracy theorist,” but I do recognize that what is reported is often far from the truth. At the same time I realize that a distrust of “facts” is a sign of mental illness! I need to keep getting closer to my Lord, listening to Him through His Word first of all but also however else He might speak to me, knowing that He is the definition and standard of Truth. (John 14:6) Today is Resurrection Sunday. The truth of that event changes everything about human history, and I must never forget it.

Father, thank You for the privilege of speaking to Your children twice today, at the Sunrise Service and in our regular service. May I present Your truth in Your words so that all who hear may be set free from the lies that have bound them, for their blessing and Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

