May 8, 2017


Deuteronomy 20:1 When you go to war against your enemies and see horses and chariots and an army greater than yours, do not be afraid of them, because the Lord your God, who brought you up out of Egypt, will be with you.

This theme is found throughout the Bible. As has been said, “One plus God is a majority.” However, as Israel’s later history shows, we must not be presumptuous about this. If God hasn’t directed the fight, or if our motives and commitment aren’t pure, then the opposite can happen. Moses himself gave figures of one chasing a thousand and two chasing ten thousand. (Deuteronomy 32:30) I wouldn’t want to be on the losing end of that battle! Moses here says that God will be with us. That is of course the meaning of one of Jesus’ most famous titles, Immanuel. (Matthew 1:23) The thing is, just saying that God is with us doesn’t make it happen. The German Army in both world wars had “God With Us” on their belt buckles. It is important for us to do a heart check to see if we are with Him! If we are on His side, then it doesn’t matter what the odds look like, just as Moses says here.

I did a couple of years in the US Army, but by God’s grace I’ve never been in combat. However, I’ve been in plenty of spiritual battles! I know full well that my enemy is the father of all lies, (John 8:44) so when he tells me the situation is hopeless, I know that victory is assured! His biggest trick is to remind me of my past sins, to make me feel unworthy of God’s protection and blessing. My response must always be that the past is covered by the blood of the Lamb, and I am the righteousness of God in Christ Jesus my Lord. (2 Corinthians 5:21) I am to give the Holy Spirit full permission to call my attention to anything of which I need to repent, but once I have done that, I should rest in the assurance that no weapon formed against me will succeed. (Isaiah 54:17) That is not being cocky, it is resting in the peace of God that surpasses human understanding. (Philippians 4:7)

Father, thank You for this reminder. I don’t know what battles I may face today, but you do, I know You, and that’s enough. Help me reject all anxiety and walk in trusting obedience each step of the way, teaching others to do likewise, so that Your name may be acknowledged as holy and Your kingdom come as Your will is done, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

