Faith and Miracles May 21, 2017


Joshua 10:13-14 So the sun stood still,
and the moon stopped,
till the nation avenged itself on its enemies,
as it is written in the Book of Jashar.
The sun stopped in the middle of the sky and delayed going down about a full day. There has never been a day like it before or since, a day when the Lord listened to a man. Surely the Lord was fighting for Israel!

Of all the miracles in the Bible, the two that deal with the “movement” of the sun (here and 2 Kings 20:9-11) are the hardest to reconcile with current cosmology. We know very well that the sun seems to move, from our perspective, because of the rotation of the earth, so how could these things have happened as reported? The thing is, the geological record shows that various anomalies have occurred in the earth’s rotation, and the magnetic poles have swapped more than once. There are those who have pursued this particular issue, but I’m not one of them. The point is, nothing at all is impossible for God, just as He had Gabriel tell Mary. (Luke 1:37) Jesus even doubled down and said that in faith, nothing would be impossible for us! (Matthew 17:20) This is why Jesus praised childlike faith. We are too prone to let “grownup” objections rob us of trusting God. The more we know of how the world works usually, the less we tend to believe that God can make it work any other way. For adults, faith almost has to be the gift the Bible says it is. (1 Corinthians 12:9, Ephesians 2:8) The thing is, not believing God is actually a form of idolatry, because it is placing human intellect ahead of, and even above, God. It has been said that science is following God’s footprints. I like that, because all of creation points to the Creator, just as Paul said. (Romans 1:20)

I had the huge advantage of growing up in a home that valued both faith and science. I have both scientists and ministers in my family tree. At no point did my parents deny science, but they always made it clear that science is incomplete, whereas God is infinite and perfect. As far as the Bible is concerned, I am fully aware of “textual criticism” and the like, but I am convinced that God caused the Bible to be written, and He is more than capable of guiding the process. The fact that He still speaks to me through it daily, as many times as I’ve read it, certainly confirms, to me at least, that it is supernatural. As I comment from time to time, I am more aware than many of the difficulties of translation from one language to another, but there too God can and does guide. If God can change the rotation of the earth to benefit His children, and I believe He did, then He certainly can transmit His Word down through the centuries, and He can meet every need I could ever have.

Father, thank You for this reminder. Even as well as I know this is true, I still default to humanistic, intellectual solutions too much of the time. I know that You have the right solution all of the time, but I don’t act like I know it. Help me trust You fully, not demanding that you change the rotation of the earth, but not letting my unbelief get in the way of anything You want to do, for Your glory. Thank You. Hallelujah!

About jgarrott

Born and raised in Japan of missionary parents. Have been here as an adult missionary since 1981.
This entry was posted in Christian, encouragement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

